Baked Lentils with Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was ok but not really something I can see myself making in the future. It just seemed like it was lacking something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I liked this! Per the review before me i added a few more spices... onion powder, garlic salt and crushed red pepper flakes. I also didn't add quite as much onion because it just seemed like way too much. Maybe it wouldn't have been though. I also used chopped tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes because that's what I had. All in all I thought this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Simple, inexpensive, tasty, and good for a couple of meals if you're cooking for two. What more can you ask?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This recipe is from the More with Less cookbook - I was asking my mom for the recipe she used to make and she pointed me to this cookbook. It's really tasty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This was very good, and you can modify it based on what you have in your pantry at the time. I used fresh thyme and left out the sage. I only had half a bell pepper, so I added an extra stalk of celery and some fresh mushrooms and it turned out great! I also used half cheddar and half mozarella. My meat loving husband loved it too, and it makes plenty so you can enjoy leftovers the next day, would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I made some minor changes: 10 oz fresh tomato instead of canned, a second stalk of celery, red bell pepper instead of green, and used 1.25 C cheddar and .25 C feta (ran out of cheddar). This is really good. Even hubby liked it, which is rare for a lentil dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
These are cheap simple and delicious. I add everything all at once and it cooks fine. Delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Great concept but needs more seasoning. This makes a LOT- I made as a side dish and halved the recipe, it still filled an 8x8 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This was excellent, and has the ever elusive "husband seal of approval", not to mention that of my 3 year old and 8-month old! I did like another reviewer and threw everything in at once and baked for about an hour, then put the cheese on top, and it turned out just fine. I would perhaps suggest stirring once or twice if you do that, just to make sure the lentils on top get cooked properly, but even with a couple of crunchy ones, it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I thought the final product was pretty good, easy ingredients and hearty meal. I adjusted the sage and thyme down while adding additional garlic powder (personal taste), likely should be made with brown/green lentils with the suggested baking time....I used french lentils and it baked for 4 hours with much additional water added. The house was nice and toasty with the oven on all evening :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States