Baked Kale Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I LOVE kale and these were okay but I think I'm going to stick with more traditional kale recipes. They had an interesting texture but left a lingering taste (not sure how else to describe it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Some suggestions. If the kale comes out bitter - or kale is "ever" bitter, try organic. The chemicals they use for these crops affect the taste. I use bagged kale with carrots and broccoli - why? Because you are assured that all the pieces are pretty much the same size. I use pistachio oil, Tejin seasoning and that is all. If they do come out a little too crispy, use them as a topping for a salad or baked potato. I use a special little grate, it has a small weaved texture, to bake them. I use a thin cookie sheet, put the grate on it and heap the kale on it. I have a Breville oven so it takes about 11 minutes at 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davilyn Eversz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Mine turned out much too salty(and I like salty), not sure if it is just a personal taste thing or if my bunch of kale was too small, it made enough to fill a large cookie sheet so I think the bunch should have been big enough. I will definitely make it again but with maybe 1/3-1/2 tsp salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I have often made kale chips and just was looking to refresh my memory on the oven temp... made the chips using red russian kale from my garden. What a disappointment... In the past I have always used lacticino or dinosaur kale - which produces great results - really crispy, easy not to burn but my flatter russian kale didn't crisp up and didn't have the flavor as a chip even though it is great in salads. So in the future it is back to Wegmans for the really crinkly kind of kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I sprinkled the kale with juice from 1/2 a lemon, seasoned with garlic salt, used about 2 tsp olive oil, mixed it all together in a bowl, then laid it out on a cookie sheet. I cooked it at 300 for 20 minutes (Instructions from another website) which was too long. The ones that weren't burnt were very good! Next time I'll cook it for just 10 minutes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
if i would have followed the recipe as it is written, without reading the input of reviewers, it would have failed. i was able to achieve a light, thin and crispy chip consistency. on separate trays, i tried old bay, salt, and just black pepper as seasonings. i learned that no matter what seasoning you use, you can't cover up the flavor of cooked cabbage. if you don't enjoy the flavor and aroma of cooked cabbage, you probably won't enjoy these not very potato-like chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Really good! Just watch baking time :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This recipe is simple and delicious. I have best results if I tear, wash, and spin dry the kale on one day, then stick in the fridge for 1-5 days before I'm ready for chips. They continue to air dry in there. When I wash and dry then bake, they always have residual moisture and bake very unevenly.I don't find they keep well; they get soggy in a tupperware.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
The best way to insure not to burn it.. is to dry it in a dehydrator.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Oh sooooo good. I've never had kale before & someone had given us a plant for our garden. Didn't know what to do with it except use in a salad, but hadn't even done that yet. I doubt now I'll even go that route because these are so quick & easy. We'll be planting kale next year for sure. I already told several others about these & we just tried them yesterday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Baked Zucchini Chips

See how to make crispy, low-calorie baked zucchini chips.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States