Baked Kale Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Try adding the oil and salt after cooking. My Kale was pretty wet and I couldn't dry the curly stuff with a paper towel, so I put it in the convection oven on 200 degrees for a few minutes to dry it, but forgot about it. By the time I got it out - about 25-30 minutes or so, it was perfectly cooked. So I just sprayed on the olive oil and added the salt and they were perfect with no soggy spots, which I have had problems with before. I think I will always cook them this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
These are super-yummy! I followed the recipe, except I used half regular salt and half seasoned salt. They are great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
A co-worker brought kale chips to a potluck office picnic and I was looking for the recipe! (These definitely got me off of my potato chip cravings...so yummy!) Everything about this recipe is great but I would definitely check the 'chips' at around 7 minutes (I have an average electric stove, no bells or whistles). I kept them in for the 10 minutes and some had gone brown (not tasty at all). Also just use your fingers to pull the weak leaf part (the part for the chip) away from the veins. This made things quick and easy and for the chips that weren't overcooked, they were yummy. Also, I used Lowrey's seasoning salt. Yay I can eat well and still think I am eating junk food this recipe is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Followed the recipe and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Did first batch exactly as recipe calls for except sprayed on the olive oil rather than drizzling (per the poster's follow-up review). After 9 minutes, I had ashes. Kale-flavored ashes. Next batch was for only 7 minutes at 340 and only a few were burned, mostly the smaller pieces. So I guess that is what I will stick with and just be extra-sure that pieces are uniform in size. Flavor was pretty good; might try some other seasonings to spice it up next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Absolutely addictive! Love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellymfleming_
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Wow! So easy and delicious! I didn't have parchment paper, so just placed directly on the cookie sheet. It still worked well for me. I used organic kale and organic olive oil. I put my olive oil in a spray pump so was able to evenly distribute the oil, on both sides of the kale. Overall easy and tasty! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Way better than I thought they'd be. Nice and crisp. I added pepper & roasted ground cumin to the recipe. Baked for 10 minutes in a convection over and they came out perfect. Husband loved them, kids not so much...but they are very fussy eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Clarke-Dove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Chryst Swords
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Great recipe. I added lime and sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I have to give credit where it's due... I took this recipe & the tips from reviewer Jennie and was able to NAIL kale chips on my first foray. I did as the original poster Lucy said, I also(as Jennie suggested) put the pieces peak up & rotated my baking sheet(I know my oven cooks unevenly, as most do) half way through. I did wish the recipe was a little more detailed as to how much oil & salt to use per piece so I will offer this: I barely touched the tip of the brush to each piece, they were certainly not fully "covered" in oil, just lightly brushed. I think I dipped the brush 4 times for an entire standard cookie sheet. I ground some sea salt and used just a few pinches (4?) for the entire tray, that is certainly a "use to taste" measurement but there really isn't much needed. My husband who is very remiss to sample any of my health food ventures really liked them. My 3 year old boy wasn't gaga, but still ate them. My 2 year old girl housed them & asked for more. I have to guess the negative reviews are due to operator error? All in all, DELICIOUSNESS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,565) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Cheesy Kale Chips

Homemade, crispy, oven-baked kale chips.

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States