Baked Kale Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I have to give credit where it's due... I took this recipe & the tips from reviewer Jennie and was able to NAIL kale chips on my first foray. I did as the original poster Lucy said, I also(as Jennie suggested) put the pieces peak up & rotated my baking sheet(I know my oven cooks unevenly, as most do) half way through. I did wish the recipe was a little more detailed as to how much oil & salt to use per piece so I will offer this: I barely touched the tip of the brush to each piece, they were certainly not fully "covered" in oil, just lightly brushed. I think I dipped the brush 4 times for an entire standard cookie sheet. I ground some sea salt and used just a few pinches (4?) for the entire tray, that is certainly a "use to taste" measurement but there really isn't much needed. My husband who is very remiss to sample any of my health food ventures really liked them. My 3 year old boy wasn't gaga, but still ate them. My 2 year old girl housed them & asked for more. I have to guess the negative reviews are due to operator error? All in all, DELICIOUSNESS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kem Helenius
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Quick, easy, and delicious. I tried it with the recipe but am ready to move on to other spices and flavors. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kem Helenius

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I loved these!! And they were so easy to make. I'm on vacation with limited supplies...so I subbed vegetable oil & used kosher salt. Delish!!! I will make these again...good & easy. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Made this today with curly kale and it was wonderful! I used a rosemary garlic spice rub and safflower oil. Instead of drizzling the oil I rubbed in on the leaves with my fingers to have more control of the oil application. Finished with Parmesan. Been a while since I had the chip experience. Just in time for football snack season, GO GATORS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Incredible! Nice replacement for potato chips when I get a craving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I decided a few weeks ago to finally try kale chips, and this was the first recipe I found. I tried this recipe at least three times and it just doesn't work. Your kale chips will always come out either soggy or burnt. Try baking your kale at 300 degrees for 10 minutes, rotate the tray and bake for an additional 10-15 minutes, you should get much better results. Also go easy on the salt, a light sprinkle is all they need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I've tried this recipe, but my husband likes things spicy. So I put the kale in a large bowl, drizzle with the olive oil and sprinkle lightly with seasoned salt; black pepper; onion powder; garlic powder and red pepper flakes. Toss well to distribute seasoning. Then I bake it till crispy. He loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
10 minutes was just a little too long for my oven. The first batch came out slightly burnt, though still edible. I did about 8-9 minutes for the second batch and it was much better. For seasoning, I just did garlic salt and pepper and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Abitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I use Pam Olive Oil Spray versus olive oil. No more than ten minutes. Make sure you put the same size of leaves on the tray together otherwise you will get burnt ones...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Excellent basic recipe. For a savory and delicious twist add a tablespoon or two of Nutritional Yeast. Easily found at whole foods or any health food store. If you are not familiar, Nutritional yeast has a cheesy, nutty flavor, is low calorie and healthy. I believe some of the store brands of kale chips use it. Good luck and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Baked Zucchini Chips

See how to make crispy, low-calorie baked zucchini chips.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States