Baked Kale Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Baked Kale Chips Haiku: "These were too salty, mine were done in 8 minutes. Leftovers were blegh." I like salt, I really really like salt, but these were crazy salty. I did as mentioned by the recipe submitter's review and used Pam to cut calories, and as others mentioned, aimed for using only the curliest of the curly pieces. I was neurotically checking on them even after 5 min., poking and stirring, and finding them crispy and done in just under 8 min. The crunchier of the pieces just crumbled into papery shards that flew everywhere when you took a bite, so clean-up around the table was laborious. The high salty factor had us lunging for our drinks, and what were leftover later on took on an unusual, displeasing texture. I thought they were good enough to make again as I love all things leafy and green, but I'll 1. use less salt, 2. bake less time, 3. leave them in larger pieces rather than cut into bite-size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
After you are done cooking them try garlic powder or chili powder to give them extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Super good. First time trying Kale and this is a really good basic recipe. I used lemon pepper salt instead of regular salt. Super easy to burn though, next time I'll probably reduce the heat to 300F and do them in batches. Deff want an atomizer for your oil, it's easy to use to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
These were great. Drizzled with olive oil and lightly salt/peppered. 350 for 10 minutes on my pizza stone. They were crispy with a little bit of chew on the bigger pieces. I did not preheat the stone. Day 39 of an extended Whole30 and I was needing something that resembled potato chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I make these all the time! Great recipe as is, but you can also add other spices or flavored to your taste. I sprinkle a little garlic powder. Just don't over-bake or chips will taste bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Eat this with everything! Delicious and my wife loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Was excited about trying these but not for us. My husband compared them to gathering dried leaves from the woods and sprinkling them with seasoned salt. I have to agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Pryor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Oh. My. Gosh. These are just as good as I expected. They shrunk a lot more than I expected, so next time, I'll make bigger pieces. And they're very fragile, so I have to use a light touch to get them to my mouth in one piece, but all 3 of my kids and I just devoured an entire bunch of kale... That has never happened before! Yum....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Very easy, healthy snack! I used garlic salt instead of the seasoned salt, but I think either one would be good. Cooking time/temperature was perfect, not soggy or burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Made these exactly as written. My problem with them is they do not keep. They are crispy to start but if you dont finish them they soften up. I will make them again just in a smaller batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,568) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Cheesy Kale Chips

Homemade, crispy, oven-baked kale chips.

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States