Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Within the first two bites, hubby declared that this hot, creamy fare be put on his special "Football Season Approved Eats" list! It was yummy and devoured in no time at all!  This is a great base recipe that you can build on, depending on your taste preferences. I made a few changes in the sauce: I made a roux first (as other reviewers commented), added sharp cheddar slowly, mixed in a splash of hot sauce and a pinch of garlic (not regular) salt. Changes in the topping: I added 1/4 t. dried, ground mustard, a dash of paprika, a little black pepper and a splash of hot sauce. It was smooth, velvety and delicious- and NO one noticed I had added hot sauce - it just boosted the flavor a little. We'll be sharing this dish (and recipe) throughout the 2014 NFL season with friends & neighbors. Thanks, Jody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dot9000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poplar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This was a good Baked Mac and Cheese Recipe! I followed the recipe exactly, but found it wasn't as cheesy as I had hoped. I should have slowly added the cheese instead of throwing it all in a pot like the recipe said. Also, I used Ritz for my crushed crackers, which was a nice touch. I will definitely try this again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is addictive! So easy and comes out fabulous exactly as written. You do not need to make any changes to improve this recipe. I have made this several times. I have used whatever blend of cheese I happen to have at the time and it always come out just as good. I used kolby jack last time. Never skimp on the topping. It really does make it look great and taste great. I use the traditional "Ritz" crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This recipe is great. I wanted a super creamy mac and cheese so I used half monterey Jack and half cheddar. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I really wanted to like this. After eating it for dinner and the kids turning their noses up at it, my husband and I were left with the leftovers. At that point, my husband (who eats anything) said he didn't like it either so it was just me eating it. After eating the leftovers one time, the intense cheese and cracker flavor was so strong I couldn't eat anymore of it. The day of it was better and if I didn't have any leftovers it might have gotten an extra star but since 4 of the 5 people in my house didn't like it, I had to only give it 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
my children are not fond of baked mac and cheese but this one they ate. I added some bacon to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is so delicious! I did make a few changes, I used 3 cups of milk and one cup of whipping cream. For the topping I used roasted vegetable ritz crackers which added great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vkylyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pico Rivera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This is sooo good. I add bacon to the macaroni and french's fried onions instead of the cracker topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I'm looking for a good special Mac and Cheese dish. I'm confused about the description of this dish that says the sour cream and mustard are key ingredients, but the recipe doesn't call for either. The video didn't either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I liked it, but my husband loved it. I just wish the cheese was a little bit more melted on the inside instead of grainy and chunky maybe it was the cheese I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Beckley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States