Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
This was wonderful. I am allergic to cow dairy (excepting butter) so I was excited to find a recipe for mac and cheese where I could simply make goat dairy substitutions. I scaled down the ingredients to make 1/4 the original, used panko in place of crackers, and baked it in the toaster oven. I worried about there being so much more sauce than macaroni, but figured a lot of the liquid would get absorbed as well as boil out. As the vessel I used was deep (instead of wide), I lengthened the time of baking (to about an hour). Perfection! Boy, I've missed mac and cheese... I'll make this again and be creative next time. I'm pleased as pudding with this base recipe. Big thanks to Jody for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I loved it just made it for Easter and just finished it all three days later and it tasted as good as the first day, love the ritz cracker on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamilah Broddie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Good and easy! I also started with a roux adding finely chopped onions. I added a little Dijon mustard to the sauce. My son was home from college eating 3 huge helpings. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I followed the recipe as is and found it to be a bit bland. The only thing that could have made it different than the recipe posted is I used unsalted butter instead of salted butter. I don't think I would make this again unless it was tweaked to have more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
It is a good base but needs flavor. Next time I would add garlic powder, a little more cheese and use SHARP Cheddar. Maybe add less pasta or make more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Super easy and sucessful! I didn't have any butter crackers on hand, so I used cheezits instead and it turned out fabulously! I'm happy and no longer hungry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linlee Searcy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noel DeNoyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
It was absolutely delicious. I have tried a few homemade mac and cheese recipes and this is by far the best. The only thing I would change is to add more cheese than it suggests.Just to give it a more cheesy taste. I haven't tried it again but I might for Superbowl Sunday. But other than that. I love it! Thanks soo much for posting this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by asimmons_PhD
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I didn't have any crackers, so I used Italian breadcrumbs instead. Also, we drink almond milk, so it have the dish a sweet flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I made this exactly as written. Way too much sauce so I had to make more pasta to accommodate for it. The texture was gritty not creamy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States