Baked Hawaiian Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
YUM! I scaled the recipe back, but followed it exactly otherwise. I was very hesitant on adding the sugar, but I did, and it was an awesome addition! I LOVED the way the sugar topping almost candied the tops of the sandwiches, and gave the sandwiches a great flavor. Keep an eye on these while they're baking, so the bottoms don't get too dark. I will def be mkaing these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I absolutely LOVE making these sandwiches! They are always a hit at parties. And honestly you can use whatever kind of cheese/meat you have on hand. The key is making the sauce on top of the sandwiches. You can't skip that part. I even take it a step further and put the spread on the inside of the bun for extra flavor. Such a great recipe thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
These were delicious! I served them during a football game and everyone loved them. Including my husband who is very picky. You have to watch closely though when cooking the butter, sugar and the other stuff that goes in it to make sure it does not carmelize before you get it on the bread. Will deff be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I made these for a tailgate party. Usually my husband is a very plain-Jane- don't-experiment on me- kind of food guy. He grew up with plain ham on a roll with butter and thought that was great once upon a time. After all these years his taste buds have grown up a little because he loved these! In fact, he suggested adding sliced onion and horseradish to the recipe somehow. (Yeah, I am not THAT adventurous!) I think it if fabulous just like it is! So excited to have one left for my lunch today- yummy!!! GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodfood4ursoul

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Wow....I could drink this sauce. I made it in the microwave. I didn't have honey mustard, so I just added some honey and some mustard to the rest of the ingredients..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
A big hit for tailgating. Everyone loved them, children included. Did not use onion flakes b/c I don't stock those in the pantry. I also lined the cookie sheet with parchment paper to keep the bottoms from burning. They turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Branch, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Fantastic!!! My family is very picky and it was a hit! I didn't have any poppy seeds or swiss cheese, but no one missed them. We also had guests over who requested them again. I did use the parchment paper to prevent burning (be careful when you pull them out of the oven to prevent them from sliding off). My husband is so picky about trying anything new and he raved about them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Delicious, easy, full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCoorishii

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I made these for a small wedding shower and the guests were amazed at the flavor. Thanks for your help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Make these all the time... But I use real onion and no sugar. You can change it up pretty easy...the last time I used beef from the deli and pepper cheese and everyone loved them... This is a for sure got to recipe for a make ahead entertaining meal. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States