Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I did this one in the crock pot added the can of coke in the morning and then added slice's of pineapple layered all over to completely cover the ham and cooked on low 10 hr's got home in the evening and such a wonderful aroma filled the house went to lift the ham out of the crock pot and slice it and it fell apart so juicy and tender the very best ham ever done in this house thanks so much for sharing this one is a keeper....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I tried this recipe and it was great!! I didn't have a roasting bag so I just put it in a roasting pan and covered it with foil. I was pleased everyone enjoyed it ! Even my mother in law!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This was great. I trimmed half the fat, put in a regular roasting pan, 1/2 can of coke, covered with foil and added the 2nd half of the coke 1/2 hr before completion. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as it was written and it turned out fantastic! It was served at a family gathering and it received rave reviews. I'm trying it again for Thanksgiving with a brown sugar and clove rub on top just to see if it comes out any better. If not, I'm happy to keep the original recipe as it really is delicious the way it is. To those worried about the cola sitting in the bottom of the bag, it's ok. As long as the holes you poke are few and small, the steam will still build up in the bag and the result will be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Ham can be really dry after a couple of hours in the oven but when fixed with the oven bag and a can of cola, the ham was moist and very tasty. The cola doesn't affect the flavor but it does keep the ham nice and juicy. And.... clean-up is a snap!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Disclaimer: Make sure you baste it! (keep reading...) My Grandmother got this recipe from a friend about 20 yrs ago. She made it simply the way it said. Put it in the bag, pour the diet coke over it, tie 'er up, and bake for a long time on low heat. And baste it with the juices about once every hour. I just poke a turkey baster through one of the holes on one side, suck up some of the juices, then squirt them all over the ham. Do that on both sides. Other than that, no maintenance needed. She usually cooked it about 6-8 hours. Sometimes overnight. By the time it was done, It was falling off the bone! I've been using that recipe for years and it is amazing!! Sometimes, like tonight, I use Dr. Pepper instead of Diet Coke. Great replacement because it has that kinda cherry flavor to it. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Moist, delicious ham! We made this recipe today for Easter, along with the Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole recipe by Tina B. This was super easy, my ex marinated the ham in the soda the night before, added the brown sugar, and close the bag again. We cooked it low and slow, and it was wonderful. I bought a fairly inexpensive store-brand ham, and this recipe made it so tender. Thank you for sharing this simple, terrific recipe, Mary. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This recipe was awesome. Marinaded my 10 lb, precooked, smoked ham in bag with two cans of diet coke the night before rotating as much as possible then drained, rubbed ham with spicy brown mustard & horseradish sauce, packed with brown sugar then added new coke and baked. It turned out AWESOME! Received rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Didn't think it was worth the time to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Did not turn out the way I thought it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States