Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
tried this on a 6.5 lb butt end simply put it has to be the tenderest ham I have pulled out of the oven yet. I will be using this recipe many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Don't use this recipe for a spiral ham. My ham was bone dry and I even marinated the ham in the Coke overnight. I did as many other suggest figuring it could only make it more moist. I also followed the idea of others to cover it in brown sugar before baking. However, even at 275 degrees, 4 hours was WAY too long for this. I can only assume it was because it was a spiral sliced ham and that is why I gave the recipe 3 stars. Perhaps with a regular ham it would have been great. Just want to let others out there know that it didn't work with a 10lb. spiral!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is my favorite way to make ham, but instead of pre cooked, I get a ham shank and cook it! May try to soak as some suggest and add brown sugar. The possibilities are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Like others, I have been fixing my hams this way for years. I usually just buy a boneless ham for the two of us. I think some had the impression that the Coke would change the flavor of the ham entirely. It doesn't. It ensures a beautifully cooked, very moist ham, with maybe a little sweetness. For a little more zest, I place the ham in the bag, pour the Coke in the bottom of the bag, then rub yellow mustard all over the top and sides of ham, pack on brown sugar, anchor some pineapple rings to the top, then pour some of the pineapple juice in with the Coke. You can also use 7-Up or Dr. Pepper instead of the Coke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjwms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Super simple, pretty tasty. Got lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimisarita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I made this ham for my fiance's family during the holidays and it was a big hit! I only made a couple minor changes (as noted in other comments). I marinated the ham in coke overnight - rotating a few times to make sure all sides were covered. When I was ready to cook the ham, I placed it in a new oven bag, poured a new can of coke over it, and then rubbed it with brown sugar. Baked for 20 minutes per pound and it came out perfectly! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! Made it for Thanksgiving, and it was a huge hit. I followed other raters advice and smashed some brown sugar on the ham right before baking. It was perfect! The only thing is the drippings don't make very good gravy, but it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I give this recipe 4 stars because the gist of the recipe is PHENOMENAL! My mom has been cooking holiday ham like this since before I can remember. I would definitely rate her holiday ham 5 stars! There are some major differences in the two recipes, however. My mom always used spiral sliced ham, for one. Also, instead of putting it in a turkey bag, she just put it in a deep metal baking dish (the ones commonly found during the holidays) and covered it with aluminum foil. Here are the two biggest differences, though, that I feel change the outcome drastically: she uses 1 can (HAS to be a can) of coca cola (pours half of the can over the ham before baking, and pours the last half on an hour before taking out of the oven) and she never trims the fat!! She simply cooks the ham fat-side up. Makes the ham unbelievably tender! If you're worried about health, serve it with steamed veggies or only trim half of the fat. Trust me, it's worth it! One more thing...She always cooked it for about 12 hours. Great for cooking overnight and waking up to that wonderful smell on Thanksgiving morning! Hope someone found this helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
i added brown sugar and a shot of jack daniel's honey to the coke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron Laird

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I'm sure I could spend $5 to $10 more on additional ingredients for a "better" ham . . . but this approach is about all I need to keep two growing boys happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States