Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I loved this recipe. I've told everyone about it and they think it sounds weird, but they stop saying that when they taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I had my first family Thanksgiving with my in-laws this past weekend. When I realized that more people were coming than expected, I decided to make a ham in addition to the turkey because I was worried the turkey was too small. I've never cooked a ham before so I came here looking for a recipe. This was awesome! I used a 10 lb ham shank and it turned out really tender with good flavour. I had a hard time keeping my husband away from it (I cooked it the night before the big day). I followed the advice in previous reviews and let it marinate overnight in a full can of pop and then rubbed brown sugar all over it before baking. Yum! Will definately make again. Thanks Suzanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
This is so easy. The ham wasn't dry. It was moist and had a lot of flavor. I did baste it with the packet that came with it at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
I have been making this for years. I only make a few changes. I put the ham in the oven bag the night before and add the coca cola (put in the fridge). It gives it a chance to soak. then before placing it in the oven, I rub brown sugar on the ham, seal the bag, poke some holes and bake. If your ham is small enough, this is GREAT in a crock pot too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
379 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
I also took the recommendation of others and added brown sugar to the ham and used the cola in a bag, came out great! I think next time I'll take it a step further and go for the pineapple & juice also! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
We made this and a turkey for Thanksgiving. The turkey went virtually untouched! The ham was tender and delicious. Will definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARRINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I put the ham in an oven bag added brown sugar and coke. I have to admit I was a little worried about putting in coca cola because normally I would use orange soda. No worries, ham was flavorful, juicy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I did not have a turkey bag--so I threw the ham into the slow cooker with the cola and some pineapple juice and brown sugar as suggested by another member....it turned out delicious....I added pineapple chunks in the last ten minutes of cooking--my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
It was not as sweet as we like. The family prefers the old fashioned way with brown sugar; however, I loved the easy clean up with the use of the bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
I'm giving this recipe 3 stars, only because it was easy! Tasted like any other ham, The coke sat in the bottom of the roasting bag, poked holes in it as said. Therefore you can't turn over. I even rubbed it down with brown sugar as others suggested in recipe. Basic hot ham is what this is. Looking for something in a hurry, this will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 181-190 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States