Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Oh my gosh, this was soooooo good. Just so everyone knows, I had an 7 lb. ham, put in in the crockpot with a can of coke on the bottom and finished the top with a can of crushe pineapple. I set it on low before I went to bed and woke up to a yummy aroma. When I tried to pick it up to slice it, the fork literally made the ham fall apart like nothing I had ever seen. I called 3 people because it is amazing and so, so, easy. Thank you Suzanne!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
484 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IBTOUGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I used this recipe to cook my Easter Ham and it was fabulous! I could have just pulled the bone right out from the ham! The meat was so tender it just fell off the bone. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Sorry Suzanne, but this one didn't do a thing for us. I took some reviewers' advice and marinated my boneless ham overnight in the cola. There was just nothing interesting about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
I couldnt find any turkey bags, so I improvised. I marinated the ham in a bottle of pepsi over night. The next day i heated the soda up, added some honey and brown sugar, and then thickened it with cornstarch to a light jelly like state. I glazed the ham about every 20-30 mins or so and it turned out fantastic! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
Made this for Christmas. Didn't have coke so we used Holiday spice Pepsi. I also did a brown sugar rub on it. It came out perfect. My husband said it was the best ham he's ever tasted. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I made this ham for New Years day and it was delicious! The ham was very tender and juicy. I liked the sweetness from the Coke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I made this ham for my Christmas dinner. Everyone thought it was delicious and kept commenting on how juicy it was. I don't know that I will ever make ham any other way. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Excellent! My first ham! I took the advice of several reviewers and marinated the ham overnight in 1/2 liter of Pepsi in a turkey baking bag that was tightly sealed. Sealing the bag air tight is tricky which is why I used so much Pepsi! I did turn the bag several times during the process to get everyting covered. I then drained the Pepsi and covered the ham in liberal amounts of brown sugar, re-tied up the bag, cut in a few slits and baked according to the directions for the turkey bag (it comes with ham directions and a cooking guide per pound of ham). The ham was moist and delicous! You could definitely tell there was a sweetness in the ham and the house smelled terrific during the cooking time. Be sure to let your ham rest in the bag for at least 15 minutes to re-absorb some of those juices. After carving, I saved the juices (skimed the fat) and the ham bone to re-use in the Allrecipes.com "Bean & Ham Soup II" later on. It will keep nicely in the freezer until I'm ready to have ham again. My 12 year old son was thrilled with the result. Ham is his favorite meat and we've been eating my mother-in-laws ham every holiday for 10 years so I was very flattered - this being my first time and all. ALSO - Remove the skin from your ham if you plan on using the brown sugar - very important!!!!! Bon apitite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
405 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Delicious! Used spiral cooked ham and marinated overnight in full can of cola. Cooked ham for about 2 hours. Very moist and tasty! Next time I will take other reviewers advice and try adding pineapple juice and brown sugar to marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
FIRST TIME USING THE COKE THE HAM WAS SO MOIST YOU COULD CUT IT WITH YOUR FORK IT TASTED LIKE IT WAS ACTUALLY MELTING IN YOUR MOUTH. ALSO POURED IN PINEAPPLE JUICE AND RUBBED HAM DOWN WITH BROWN SUGAR. FAMILY LOVED THE HAM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States