Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
we thought this recipe was okay but probably won't make it again. i scored a 3+ lb. boneless amish ham, added the coke, did the oven bag trick & baked it for 2 hours. maybe using a bigger ham (& hence longer baking time) makes this ham good enough to get all those stars? thanks anyway suzanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TSWAGGER
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
This was my first ham and my husband was skeptical about the recipe because he loves ham and wanted it to be good. To his surprise the ham was the best. I did not use the bag to cook it in I just put the ham in a bowl with the coke overnight and put it all in a roasting pan covered. I basted the coke over it and then I turned the temperature up at the end to 400 degrees for about 15-20 minutes. This recipe is easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Oh my gosh, this was soooooo good. Just so everyone knows, I had an 7 lb. ham, put in in the crockpot with a can of coke on the bottom and finished the top with a can of crushe pineapple. I set it on low before I went to bed and woke up to a yummy aroma. When I tried to pick it up to slice it, the fork literally made the ham fall apart like nothing I had ever seen. I called 3 people because it is amazing and so, so, easy. Thank you Suzanne!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
494 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IBTOUGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I used this recipe to cook my Easter Ham and it was fabulous! I could have just pulled the bone right out from the ham! The meat was so tender it just fell off the bone. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Sorry Suzanne, but this one didn't do a thing for us. I took some reviewers' advice and marinated my boneless ham overnight in the cola. There was just nothing interesting about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
I couldnt find any turkey bags, so I improvised. I marinated the ham in a bottle of pepsi over night. The next day i heated the soda up, added some honey and brown sugar, and then thickened it with cornstarch to a light jelly like state. I glazed the ham about every 20-30 mins or so and it turned out fantastic! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
Made this for Christmas. Didn't have coke so we used Holiday spice Pepsi. I also did a brown sugar rub on it. It came out perfect. My husband said it was the best ham he's ever tasted. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I made this ham for New Years day and it was delicious! The ham was very tender and juicy. I liked the sweetness from the Coke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I made this ham for my Christmas dinner. Everyone thought it was delicious and kept commenting on how juicy it was. I don't know that I will ever make ham any other way. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Excellent! My first ham! I took the advice of several reviewers and marinated the ham overnight in 1/2 liter of Pepsi in a turkey baking bag that was tightly sealed. Sealing the bag air tight is tricky which is why I used so much Pepsi! I did turn the bag several times during the process to get everyting covered. I then drained the Pepsi and covered the ham in liberal amounts of brown sugar, re-tied up the bag, cut in a few slits and baked according to the directions for the turkey bag (it comes with ham directions and a cooking guide per pound of ham). The ham was moist and delicous! You could definitely tell there was a sweetness in the ham and the house smelled terrific during the cooking time. Be sure to let your ham rest in the bag for at least 15 minutes to re-absorb some of those juices. After carving, I saved the juices (skimed the fat) and the ham bone to re-use in the Allrecipes.com "Bean & Ham Soup II" later on. It will keep nicely in the freezer until I'm ready to have ham again. My 12 year old son was thrilled with the result. Ham is his favorite meat and we've been eating my mother-in-laws ham every holiday for 10 years so I was very flattered - this being my first time and all. ALSO - Remove the skin from your ham if you plan on using the brown sugar - very important!!!!! Bon apitite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
408 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

Displaying results 161-170 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Chef John's Honey-Glazed Ham

See how to make Chef John's honey-glazed ham for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States