Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This was great. Instead of a cola I used 12 oz of hard cider. All my guests raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I cooked it in the crock pot with a can of coke and crushed pineapple (had dreams of bacon all night :D)that evening which created a shredded ham. Then I used Deluxe Corned Beef Hash recipe and instead of corned beef I used the shredded ham and added about 6 eggs on top and poached them with the cover on for about 10 minutes....It was YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Whaling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I was a little skeptical at first but since I was having a low-key Easter dinner, I figured I'd give it a shot. VERY glad I did! I had a 7.7lb fully cooked ham that I put in the crock pot with half a can of coke zero. After reading other reviews, I cooked the ham on low for 8 hours, but I think it was too long. It was still very moist, but I think it would have been done (140 temp) after about 6 hours. So my recommendation is to just use a good meat thermometer and you should be good! I'll keep using this recipe and cooking it in the crockpot because of the ease and tastiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I did this one in the crock pot added the can of coke in the morning and then added slice's of pineapple layered all over to completely cover the ham and cooked on low 10 hr's got home in the evening and such a wonderful aroma filled the house went to lift the ham out of the crock pot and slice it and it fell apart so juicy and tender the very best ham ever done in this house thanks so much for sharing this one is a keeper....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I tried this recipe and it was great!! I didn't have a roasting bag so I just put it in a roasting pan and covered it with foil. I was pleased everyone enjoyed it ! Even my mother in law!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This was great. I trimmed half the fat, put in a regular roasting pan, 1/2 can of coke, covered with foil and added the 2nd half of the coke 1/2 hr before completion. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as it was written and it turned out fantastic! It was served at a family gathering and it received rave reviews. I'm trying it again for Thanksgiving with a brown sugar and clove rub on top just to see if it comes out any better. If not, I'm happy to keep the original recipe as it really is delicious the way it is. To those worried about the cola sitting in the bottom of the bag, it's ok. As long as the holes you poke are few and small, the steam will still build up in the bag and the result will be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinazim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Ham can be really dry after a couple of hours in the oven but when fixed with the oven bag and a can of cola, the ham was moist and very tasty. The cola doesn't affect the flavor but it does keep the ham nice and juicy. And.... clean-up is a snap!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Disclaimer: Make sure you baste it! (keep reading...) My Grandmother got this recipe from a friend about 20 yrs ago. She made it simply the way it said. Put it in the bag, pour the diet coke over it, tie 'er up, and bake for a long time on low heat. And baste it with the juices about once every hour. I just poke a turkey baster through one of the holes on one side, suck up some of the juices, then squirt them all over the ham. Do that on both sides. Other than that, no maintenance needed. She usually cooked it about 6-8 hours. Sometimes overnight. By the time it was done, It was falling off the bone! I've been using that recipe for years and it is amazing!! Sometimes, like tonight, I use Dr. Pepper instead of Diet Coke. Great replacement because it has that kinda cherry flavor to it. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Moist, delicious ham! We made this recipe today for Easter, along with the Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole recipe by Tina B. This was super easy, my ex marinated the ham in the soda the night before, added the brown sugar, and close the bag again. We cooked it low and slow, and it was wonderful. I bought a fairly inexpensive store-brand ham, and this recipe made it so tender. Thank you for sharing this simple, terrific recipe, Mary. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States