Baked Ham with Sweet Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by shakenbake58
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
We made this for Easter dinner tonight, we had the pineapple on the side, the glaze was incredible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was both easy and delicious! I had to add about 3 Tbsp water to the paste because it was so dry (I think my honey was a bit "old"). I scored the ham before cooking and added the glaze half hour before as per directions, basting once. I didn't use pineapple and cherries, it was plenty sweet enough as it was. They would look pretty but I was cooking for a bunch of men so that didn't matter as much. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
WHOA....THAT WAS GOOD. I didn't have lemon juice or the pineapple/cherries and much to my relief it was still awesome. I added water instead and then some spicy mustard in a squeeze bottle to help make the sugar, etc. wet. It was fantastic. Glad I chose this recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made this glaze exactly as indicated, but did not add the fruit at the end. I do like pineapple on ham and the cherries make it really pretty, but I made a spicy cherry jelly on the side instead. As for the glaze, it was exactly what I wanted. It thickened beautifully with the addition of the flour, had a great balance of flavor from the brightness of the lemon juice and the depth of the dry mustard, all harmonizing nicely with the general sweetness. I liked that the honey was included, adding a broader base than the brown sugar alone. It was very simple, added some beautiful color due to the caramelization, and was a huge hit with everyone present. For what it's worth, it also paired wonderfully with the cherry concoction, which gave it the fruitiness it was designed to work with as well as a little heat to couple with the sweet (the cherry stuff is actually meant to be a glaze, too, but we served it on the side for dipping hams, mixing with baked sweet potatoes, onions, & apples, or adding to rolls with butter. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFowler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
The ham came out just as expected, moist and juicy. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Wow! Who knew perfect baked ham could be so easy? I didn't have a rack, didn't use the pineapples & cherries and still this is by far the best ham I have ever baked. It reminded me of the ham from the famous Honey Baked Ham company in my area. My son says it was the best ever. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderfully easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Excellent ham! Moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I made this recipe for Easter, it was delicious. The ham was moist & not salty. I was preparing quite a few dishes in the oven, so I used a Nesco roaster for the ham. That's the only thing I did differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I am now the biggest fan of this recipe! I was SO forgiving. I had no idea that my probe thermometer was not reading correctly until after I had cooked my ham for 3+ hours and checked with the instant-read thermometer. Thought all was lost. In fact I apologized to my husband beforehand, thinking that the ham would be dry. It was NOT. It was amazing, moist, and the best ever! Thank you for my new favorite baked ham recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This was so good, I only had pineapple slices and no cherries. I will make sure I have them next time just for presentation. I didn't have much juice left to baste the ham with so I used the pineapple juice. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States