Baked Ham with Sweet Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I saw all of the five star reviews here, and I was excited. I prepped the baste and prepared it just the way the author stated because there is nothing worse than reading a five star review from somebody who changed a number of items in the recipe. Anyway, I had to add some liquid because mine was not turning into a paste. Additionally, much of the baste burned onto the ham, which made those outside pieces inedible, and overall, while it probably reduced some of the saltiness, this did not really flavor the ham well. I did, however, enjoy eating the pineapples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clay Weeks
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I used this recipe for a Christmas Ham. I substituted the Honey with Pure Maple Syrup and It was Impeccable! I skimmed the dripping when finished cooking and then added Black Coffee from my pot to Thin into a Gravy, Not your socks Off! Just remember, Do not Cover the Ham with foil or Lid when baking, I did and the bottom of the ham split. I saved it though, Wonderful Ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clay Weeks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and it was fabulous! I did cut the diamonds and score them with cloves as someone had recommended in the comments. I also added some of the pineapple and cherry juice to my glaze mix! I basted it with the glaze for the last hr. Next time I will make double the glaze because I felt I could have used more, but that is just personal preference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katie Jones
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Just made this today, it tastes so good and very moist. I made some tiny adjustments, switch the mustard out for garlic powder, 2 cups of brown sugar and I had the crushed pineapple so I drizzled it all over the top. My roaster is huge so I used just over 8 ups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I started out at 400F, but had to turn it down to 350F, as it was burning my ham too fast. The ham came out super juicy and moist! I would make again. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This recipe was a hit. Followed the instructions exactly, except I used pineapple slices. Very delicious - would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Oh, this was so good!! I only used a little water mixed with the juices from the ham and used a 9x13 glass baking dish. I used 2 tbl. spicy brown mustard instead of powder and sprinkled in some cloves to the baste. I cut some fresh pineapple in chunks instead of canned. I didn't have the cherries. I started basting the ham right from the start and made extra, stirring some in with the water and juices in the bottom of pan so all could drizzle some on their meat and potatoes as desired while eating. Oh, and I covered the ham loosely with foil while baking. The whole family love this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Oh My Gosh! There is no reason this should be as good as it is! This turned out wonderful. I made it for the entire Family's Easter meal (no pressure there, right) and we were so happy with the results. Amazing how moist and tender it was. I'll never cook a ham any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shakenbake58
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
We made this for Easter dinner tonight, we had the pineapple on the side, the glaze was incredible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was both easy and delicious! I had to add about 3 Tbsp water to the paste because it was so dry (I think my honey was a bit "old"). I scored the ham before cooking and added the glaze half hour before as per directions, basting once. I didn't use pineapple and cherries, it was plenty sweet enough as it was. They would look pretty but I was cooking for a bunch of men so that didn't matter as much. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States