Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Great sandwich. I used 12 regular sized hawaiian rolls and made them up in the morning. Baked for dinner and they were delicious. I would suggest covering with foil for at least half of the baking time so that the bun doesn't dry out. Thanks Lisa T. for sharing this recipe. It will be great for summer get togethers and a filling dinner sandwich. My husband and son each ate 3 - they loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I made these for the first time last night and the family loved them. I used butter flavored hawaiian rolls and doubled the dijon mustard. I also left out the poppy seeds and used a mixture of minced garlic and onion powder (1 tbsp total). I made 12 with swiss cheese and 12 with muenster cheese. Don't be afraid to pour the entire mixture over the rolls. I was worried it was way too much at first and left some in the bowl. I was wrong! The topping cooks into the rolls perfectly. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karengtyler

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I have had these sandwiches in the past and they are wonderful. Quick to fix and delicious. Great to serve at a party or small gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Growing up we had a variation of this we called "poker sandwiches" because Mom made them when Dad's friends came over to play poker. We used yellow mustard, onions, butter and poppy seeds with ham and swiss cheese and made the sandwiches individually with the mustard, onion, butter mixture on the inside of the sandwich. We wrapped them individually in foil, froze them, and popped them in the oven for poker night. Our version was always a hit and you can make a ton and keep them on hand for after-school snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydlong

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
First of all I modified the recipe greatly because I didn't have a few of the ingredients and I had eaten a sweeter version of these in the past and loved them. I also didn't want all that butter, so I used 1/3 cup of butter, 1 tbsp dijon (I'd add a little more next time), no worcestershire, no poppy seeds, but added 1 tsp of splenda brown a sprinkle or two of tarragon and a pinch of onion powder. I used honey maple ham and muenster cheese and only 16 tea rolls. The tea rolls were great because they were stuck together so I cut all of them in half as one block and assembled the sandwiches in one great square. I put the ham down first, then the cheese and spread a thin layer of may on the top inside so it would melt into the cheese. Then I sliced through them and placed them 1/2" apart on a foil lined pan. I drizzled each one with a scant tablespoon of the sauce and covered them lightly in with foil because I wanted the rolls to steam a bit. It turned out amazing! The rolls were nicely browned on top and slightly crunchy on the edges and bottom. The sauce flavor was slightly sweet and tangy but not overly rich, perfect! So feel free to reduce the butter :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
The other recipe on site doesn't have Worcestershire sauce. Someone brought these to a party yesterday and they were wonderful. She used Hawaiian rolls in lieu of buns. She used worchestershire. And you must use HONEY MUSTARD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLFBHARD
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made these for NYE and they were a hit!! I didn't follow the recipe to a T, only because I had a thousand things going on and I screwed up! The must have is King's Hawaiian rolls. Don't buy the knock off's make sure it is that brand, it gives the sandwiches the sweet that everyone loves. The other thing I changed on purpose is I used provolone cheese only because my hubby doesn't like swiss...but I think it would be good either way. I forgot to add the minced onion and would be good with or without. I also added a little more worcestshire only because I looked at the recipe wrong. I lined a cookie sheet with foil, put the bottoms of the rolls down first (I did slice them in half while they were all connected like others suggested), I put the cheese next, topped with ham that I doubled over to fit the bun (I used a good maple ham), then I put on the top of the bun. I spooned a tablespoon of the mixture on top of each bun and placed a sheet of foil loosely over the top. The buns were buttery from the mixture and just a little crusty, but nice and soft inside. I did have plenty of butter mixture left over, so I think it is safe to cut back on the butter mixture ingredients or there is plenty to add another 12 sandwiches or so. Yummy! UPDATE: Do not use all of the butter mixture...it makes the rolls too buttery. I would use a teaspoon to drizzle a spoonful on top of each one and probably no more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This recipe is already on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
These sandwiches are too good to be true! I used turkey deli meat and only 1/2 cup butter. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I add 3 TBSP brown sugar to the butter mix, which adds something wonderful. We love these. They are equally good with sesame seeds, if you happen to be out of poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Mini Ham and Cheese Rolls

These easy and tasty little sliders are perfect for game day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States