Baked Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I also followed this recipe for my Easter dinner today.. instead of water i used diet 7 up.. and i used the Splenda blend brown sugar.. (i am diabetic)Let me tell you.. omg.. my hubby is not a big fan of Ham.. but he ranted and raved about this one!! he said it was the best he has ever had in his life!! lol.. it was juicy and with just the right amount of sweetness.. i didnt have cloves.. so i left it out..... but very yummy. i used the Butt portion.. this will always be my cooking method for Easter Hame from now on!!! My Thanks to Auntie KK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made this today for Easter. The cloves were a surprise hit with my company. I used a prebaked ham, and it was only 3-1/2 pounds, so only needed 1-1/2 hours in the oven. Adding the juice from the bag plus water to 1/2 inch and covering it tightly with foil made a moist ham. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I'm happy that someone else likes a simple ham. This is the fastest most elegent dinner you can make.If I have company then I put the pineapple rings with the cherries in the middle on top of the ham. As far as the people that didn't like cloves....You don't eat them, you take them all off before cutting the ham. Remember to score your ham not dice like my sister-in-law did), but score the top before you put your brown sugar on any extras you want. has anyone has made ham gravy? I haven't found anyone yet, but, love it when they try it at my house. It's a sweet gravy, but, delicious. Take the ham out of the pan and keep the drippings on the bottom of the pan (if you added some water before cooking you'll have more gravy). Don't salt or pepper since a lot of hams can be very salty. Make your ROUX (flour and water mixture), and start adding it to your drippings until you get the consistency that you want. If it's still to salty then add more water (little at a time). I always add a little more brown sugar until I get the taste that I want (my sister adds the pineapple juce instead of the water...like I said it's a sweet gravy (I was raised on this gravy). Let your family or company add their own s&p as they want. If you like raisins, I put raisins in it in the begining so they cook and puff up. Please try it, remember you don't have to serve it since you didn't purchase any thing extra to make it. You might surprise yourself and your family (& company).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
A tip that may work for some of you: Cut the ham in a cross-hatch pattern; rub the brown sugar deep into the slits; add your cloves if desired. Sometimes I add pineapple slices to the top and pour a bit of the juice slowly over the top to help work the brown sugar down. Just use a tiny bit and pour slowly. I pour about 1/3 to 1/2 the juice from the canned pineapple into the bottom (instead of water). I normally use a 5lb fully cooked boneless ham, but you can increase the amount of juice/pineapple to fit your ham. Even with the water this method produces a delicious ham, and letting the slices mingle with the juices for a bit makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This is a good basic recipe i left out the cloves and mixed a little Ginger in with the brown sugar yummy!! Very juicy and tender!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Usually I agree with the majority of reviewers but this was not at all what I expected. I made it exactly as it called for and it tasted no different to me then throwing the ham straight into the oven without the cloves and sugar. The sugar melted off the ham almost instantly and the cloves didn't add hardly any flavor. It made the house smell great but taste wise, it was as plain as can be. Maybe it was something on my end (or maybe next time I need to increase the sugar.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I usually skip the cloves since I don't keep whole cloves on hand. Still a great ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Hmmmm....will try again. Perhaps I overcooked my ham. Dried out and falling off the bone. Ended up making ham salad out of the rest. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ..thru his stomach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
So easy and so delicious! I opted for the pre-cooked spiral ham and followed the direction for heating. I also opted out of the cloves. This had a very nice sweetness and was ready in no time at all! Perfect for a holiday meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States