Baked Halibut Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I've made this many many times because it's healthy and simple. You can use just about any type of white fish besides halibut such as sea bass, tilapia and cod. It tastes delicious with all of them. I always use more veggies than suggested, such as adding mushrooms and doubling up on the rest so I have to add more salt and pepper, about 1.5 tbs for 2 servings and I add rep pepper flakes because I like spice. If you plan on using this dish as a whole meal, then I would suggest doubling up on the veggies, salt and pepper. I can see why people would think it's bland because it's lacking enough seasoning for my taste, which is why it gets 4 instead of 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Great recipe, my boyfriend thought it was one of the best things I ever made and he is hard to please! I modified this recipes by adding some pesto to the veggies when cooking them and cut up and added some marinated artichoke hearts when topping the fish before baking. I also used only fire roasted tomatos out of can instead of fresh. The flavors worked out wonderfully! I will make this again--so easy and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Very easy and tasty recipe! I didn't have halibut but used it for tilapia and it worked out well. It was a great single course meal. I prepared the fish with chili flakes and lemon juice and this added nicely to the flavors. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Great recipe. We had a turnip that we threw in with the sautéed vegetables called for. We also used twice as much of the vegetable mixture as was called for. Have saved this to our family favorites file in the recipe box and will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Love this recipe, have cooked it several times. The first time I stuck to the original recipe and it was very good. The second time I added extra garlic and basil and it was even better. I like to use different veggies...asparagus and butternut squash are favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Yum!!!! I live in Alaska, so halibut is a staple in our diet. I am always looking for new ways to cook it and this was amazing! I did add mushrooms, but that was my only adjustment. I was a little skeptical abut the feta, but is was fantastic. Will definitely cook again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Tastes good but you can't really taste the halibut, so save your money. next time I'll cook tilapia and think it'll taste the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Great moist fish. I only had 1 roma tomato so I added 1/2 a can of crush tomatoes along with chopped parsley, spinach and mushrooms. I poured all the sauteed veggies over the fish to cover, then sprinkled on the feta. I covered with foil for 10 minutes and cooked without foil for 10 minutes. (I had large pieces of fish) It was delicious and fresh. Next time I will add more fresh basil and maybe a bit of oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
some in my family did not like the delicious tomato and squash topping with feta and removed leaving a very plain piec of fish. If you have picky eaters this is not for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I am giving it 5 stars, even tho I didn't use halibut. I didn't have any, so I used tilapia filets. The flavors were wonderful and I plan on using this with halibut soon. A keeper for fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn and Chanterelle

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States