Baked Halibut Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I stuck the recipe given and it was amazing! There is no need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was a delicious, simple recipe. I didn't have zucchini, but used everything else. The ingredients complemented the delicate taste of the halibut. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This was pretty tasty! I followed some of the comments: seasoned the fish itself, used the canned toms with garlic/basil/oregano, added some lemon juice and crushed red pepper flakes. It is very easy and simple, but I agree with some others; it is not necessary to spend the big money on the halibut (I just paid $25/lb) because the flavor comes from the basil (I used dried because that's what I had), tomatoes, garlic, feta etc. I think this would be equally as delicious with any white fish: cod, tilapia etc. I just got a bag of "Uncle Ben's" brown/wild rice (micro pouch) and served it on top, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This was a great recipe, and I would give it 5 stars with these changes: first, use flavored olive oil (e.g., basil, chili or garlic flavored). To solve the problem of it being dry and a bit bland that others commented on, use 1/2 cup of fire-roasted salsa and add to the saucepan with the zukes, and also add in a small handful of sun-dried tomatoes. I used cherry tomatoes and added them whole to the saucepan for a few minutes with the zuke for a few minutes til they were a bit blistered. I used a mix of yellow and red tomatoes and the presentation was spectacular. Cover it in the oven for half the time like another reviewer mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Very tasty and low in calories and fat especially without the feta. The veggies also paired well with other proteins (besides halibut).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Totally a keeper recipe. Used fresh vegetables from the garden and enjoyed the feta and wonderful flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yimmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I didn't have zucchini so I threw in a red bell pepper with the garlic, onion and tomatoes. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This was wonderful! Unfortunately halibut was extremely expensive so we used salmon instead. I'm sure the halibut would have made it even better! My kids all loved the dish and couldn't get enough. A couple recommendations. I punctured the salmon fillets with a fork multiple times so that the juices could run into them. Also, I will add a couple more cloves of garlic next time as well as double the feta cheese. Fresh basil is a must in this recipe (I may increase the amount of basil as well next time)!! I can't wait to make this again! Hopefully Halibut will be more affordable so I can use it with this amazing dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This was really good! I used Tilapia to cut down on the cost of using Halibut. I also used fire roasted tomatoes which was suggested by other reviewers. The fire roasted tomatoes added more flavor. I also added squash in addition to the zucchini. I served the dish over Basmati rice which worked well with this dish. The Feta cheese definitely adds a surprising twist to this recipe. This is definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Amazingly good. Didn't have fresh basil so used 2 teaspoons dry..Definatley will make again soon !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Grilled Halibut Steaks with Corn & Chanterelles

Grilled halibut steaks with a mushroom and sweet corn relish.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States