Baked Halibut Sitka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Really, really good! I made the recipe to a T - didn't change a thing and everyone loved it. Some paprika or seafood seasoning on the fish itself might be a nice touch. Next time, and there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I had some halibut stashed in the freezer and decided to give this a try. It was very good! I baked this in individual oval Corningware dishes, which helped to contain the yummy sauce. I didn’t think an oven temperature as high as 475 was necessary, so I baked mine at 400 degrees and they were perfectly cooked in 20-25 minutes. I think 20 minutes at 475 would have overcooked the fish. This is super easy and we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This recipe is outstanding! I couldn't afford halibut, so I used cod instead. My entire family devoured this and requested that I make it again very soon. I was a little concerned that the sauce would be bland, but it was just right. I'll be watching for halibut to go on sale so we can try the recipe as intended, but until then, this will be in our regular rotation for other types of fish. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made 2 changes to this fish dish. Other wise I would give it 10 stars. First, picture me, in the market try to remember the ingreds for this dish. Confussed look, creased brow. You get the idea. I snagged a package of tilapia. Somehow thought of most of the nearly everything else. There was a Demo lady who was giving samples of fish, sprikled with Chef Moritos fish seasoning on it. WOW, that is Yummy! Second, got my bottle and headed home. Whipped up a great salsa. Darn! Forgot the dill weed for the fish.! What to use? Cilanrto. Gave a shake of the fish seasoning slathered on the spread and in the oven with tator tots they went. Mmmm, starting to smell good in here! Time to toast the corn tortillas. One of my DD's friends Happened to stop by. Funny how they Just Know huh? OK gang, dinners Ready!! My DS was a bit skeptical, so he only got. Well he ate 2 more for good measure! Hubby was home and before I could get the kids fed, he was RAVING about how good these were!! Keeper. Thanks Jalex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Love this recipe it is fast, easy and really good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Five stars hands down!!! Simply scrumptious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This was great! I used cod and forgot to mix in the dill, so I just sprinkled some on top before baking. Very tasty and different...will make again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Being a Midwesterner, my seafood cooking skills usually leave a lot to be desired. However, for our traditional fancy Christmas Eve dinner, my daughter asked for seafood. I used frozen halibut fillets from the grocery store (very, very pricey compared to even high quality beef steak, but this was a special occasion). This recipe was full-proof even for someone not used to cooking seafood. We loved the dill topping with the halibut and added a little paprika for color. All around great compliments from a crowd that eats seafood only rarely. I will try this in the future, but probably with a less expensive piece of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
1st time i made this, turned out awesome ! didn't have green onions so i substituted with chopped yellow onions - YUMMY DISH !! will definitely have it again and when i have guests !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
We have about 60 lbs of halibut left (down from 75) in our deep freezer from a trip to Alaska. I'm always looking for new ways to prepare it, ans this one got a definite thumbs up from my husband, 7 year old son, and 4 year old daughter. I didn't use all of the spread/sauce and served it with the fish. I made mashed potatoes and peas, and the sauce was really good on the potatoes. This will become a halibut staple recipe! So easy and delicious. The only change I made was I reduced the temp to 400 and baked for 12 minutes since we "butterfly" our halibut steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylovesu2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States