Baked Haddock with Spinach and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CrystalCooks
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Hubby really liked it, I found it a little bland, think I'll add more spice/herbs next time. We enjoyed it on a bed of rice with asparagras and greens beans. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
The taste and presentation were great. My son said it was the best fish he had ever tasted. I was disappointed though, because the fish more or less poached in the juices created by the spinach and tomatoes. I would like a dryer finished dish. That is why I gave this dish 4 stars instead of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Very tastey! The 2 qt dish seemed too small for all of the ingredients -will go bigger next time. A great way to enjoy haddock and get your veggies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Tarragon, nutmeg & thyme - what a brilliant combination !!! Tasting as I worked my way through the directions, I found it a bit bland for out tastes, so I added 2T freshly minced garlic to the onion for last 2 min of sauté, added 1-1/2 T of capers & 1/4 C white wine to sauce, used 28 oz can diced tomato & increased the thyme to 1 tsp & tarragon to 3/4 tsp. Marvelous dish; definitely making again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I made this and it was delicious! I used a can of diced tomatoes with basil, garlic, and oregano for added flavor. I found that when I measured the remaining juice from the can of the tomatoes, there was hardly anything, so I just used a medium can tomato sauce and added some sauteed onion, garlic, and the tarragon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I made this except i opted out o making the additional tomato sauce and it was really delicious a great way to do fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adilah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made this last night & it was good but it didn't have a whole lot of flavor, even after making some changes that others suggested. I think it has potential though! I sauteed the onion in butter & added about a TBSP or a tad more of fresh garlic, added the spinach & nutmeg. Then I put the fish in the dish & sprinkled onion powder, cayenne pepper, & salt on it. Next time I will add garlic powder & regular pepper as well. I put the spinach mixture all over the fish & baked it. When I made the sauce I added 1/4 cup of white wine to it. Next time I'll use a can of tomato sauce & double it cause there wasn't nearly enough! I think with the extra changes it could be really good & healthy dinner :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was so easy and so delicious! I took the advice of some reviewers and added a little more spice and used wine instead of water for the sauce. Doubled the sauce. Yummm! Served with wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
YUM! Just finished a lunch made with this recipe. I made a few changes though. One because I was hungry and in a hurry when I was making it so I read that the thyme and tarragon went in the acutal dish. I put the herbs in with the tomatoes and it was amazing. I also added chopped garlic, sliced mushrooms and the juice a myers lemon to the spinach mixture, as well as double the nutmeg...I love nutmeg and probably would never think to use it with haddock. After I spread the diced tomatoes on, I sprinked the tarragon and thyme on top of that and baked it. For the sauce I used green onions and added cayenne pepper and left it otherwise spice free. I loved the juice in the dish, I am already thinking of ways to use it in a fish soup. I served it with turnip mashed with butter and seasoned it with sea salt, cracked pepper and just a hint of thyme...plus 1 tsp of maple syrup just for fun. Way Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was great. I was worried it would be too bland so I added lemon juice to the spinach mixture and some salt and pepper to the sauce and it worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Haddock

Parmesan cheese adds a nice flavor to these baked haddock fillets.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States