Baked Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Anyone who wants a great "fried" green tomato recipe that will not cover the flavor and tang of the tomatoes AND will not clog your arteries, this is it! I used the basic recipe and tweaked it to my taste--no dill, but did use pepper, salt, garlic powder and onion powder in the cornmeal, then shook just a touch of Parmesean on top of each tomato slice after placing them on the pan and giving them a quick spray of canola oil ... I thought they were divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I used a half and half mix of Italian bread crumbs and corn meal, and added half a cap full of Mrs Dash seasoning to the coating and baked it on a baking stone coated w/ a little olive oil ,they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
I am a huge fan of "fried" green tomatoes, but wanted to try a lower fat version. These tomatoes were very bland. Was unhappy with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
A good variation on this recipe is adding dried ranch seasoning to the cornmeal mixture- it adds a bit more flavor. It's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
These are a great alternative to fried green tomatoes. I followed the recipe exactly but after 45 minutes, the cornmeal on the underside was still raw and "dusty". I flipped them over, sprinkled with additional oil, and put them under the broiler. Some serving suggestions: use them on a sandwich instead of ripe tomatoes or stack them with chevre between slices and top with roasted red pepper aioli. Less messy, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
I was eager to try this after enjoying fried green tomatoes, but wishing they were less greasy. There is nothing in this recipe to make the coating crispy when baked. It makes a warm tomato with warm cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This recipe was very bland. I even added more herbs/garlic powder to the cornmeal. Hope this is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I am always searching for lowfat alternatives to my favorites. I have lost over 25 lbs by doing this. These were a little bland compared to the fried in butter kind - but when trying to remain healthy - i've learned to mix and match lower fat options. These needed a little more spice and that's it. Thanks for the recipie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
It was great! I made it for my mom on Mother's Day and she was thrilled!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I enjoyed this, though I added a little more spice. It was nice to have a healthy alternative to frying them. They do get crispy and brown, but you have to slice them thinly. Quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States