Baked Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
The concept of this recipe is GREAT- Yes, you need to season it more but if you follow the process-slice thin, flour, egg wash, cornmeal/breadcrumbs you get a great alternative to fried green tomatoes. And they reheat wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I would only give this recipe four stars based on the changes I made to it, otherwise, it seems too bland, and I personally don't like a lot of dill. This recipe is definitely health-conscious, and the changes I made are not...but it's still not fried which must count for something! Instead of cornmeal, I used panko to which I added melted butter, a pinch of ground cayenne pepper and used another reviewer's suggestion of grated parmesan cheese. I dipped the salted/peppered tomato slices in an egg wash before covering with the panko mixture. I baked according to the instructions but placed the tomatoes on top of a wire cooling rack inside of a foil-covered cookie sheet. This allowed the bottoms to become somewhat crisp without having to turn over. I made these for a party and they were a big hit. Everyone wanted to know how I did it. I served them on a platter with a dipping sauce I made from a Hidden Valley Ranch mix and added a couple drops of Tobasco Chipotle Pepper Sauce for an extra kick. These are messy which I think is their only downfall, but very good. Serve them right out of the oven if you can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
No, it's not quite as tasty as the fried variety but the health benefits make up for the difference. I did substitute garlic salt. I have made this several times and experimented with different seasonings. A good alternative fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Unfortunately, they don't compare to the fried version. The texture is off, but they taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Nothing really beats fried...but these were all right. I did my own spice blend, including pepper, salt and a garlic and herb mixture. Next time, I think I'll try to flip them in the middle and perhaps dip the tomato slices in egg before the cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
After reading other reviews, I added quite a bit more spice (cayenne, lots of seasoned salt, pepper, garlic and onion powders)to the cornmeal. I also cut the tomatoes very thin and dipped them in egg before the cornmeal. I sprayed the cookie sheet and the tops of the tomatoes with Pam before baking and flipped them once during cooking. They came out very flavorful and crisp. I actually fried some of the ones I made to compare and the baked ones are better! They are crisper and way less greasy tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Definitely not crunchy but worth it, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This is a nice, healthy alternative but not as good as the more fattening recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
These are a great alternative to fried green tomatoes. I followed the recipe exactly but after 45 minutes, the cornmeal on the underside was still raw and "dusty". I flipped them over, sprinkled with additional oil, and put them under the broiler. Some serving suggestions: use them on a sandwich instead of ripe tomatoes or stack them with chevre between slices and top with roasted red pepper aioli. Less messy, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This is a more than acceptable substitute for fried green tomatoes! I did find the corn meal was a little dry - next time I will try less or moisten it a little. The dill is a nice touch. I roasted the tomatoes at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States