Baked Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Bland, and for me, using corn mean overpowers the tomato, does not complement it at all. I will try again, using other reviewers suggestions of mixing in Italian bread crumbs and maybe some ranch dressing powder (don't add salt if you use ranch dressing powder though, as it is very salty already). Nutritional yeast would also add a nice flavor component to the mix. I would also recommend dredging the slices in egg to make the coating stick and to add some crunch. And probably would work better to bake at higher temp for shorter time period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Thought this would be a great alternative to fried green tomatoes, but didn't care for these and couldn't finish them. I wish it would have worked because I like the idea of lower calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I found these to be too dry. I saw a previous comment that said hers were too greasy, but I didn't get that since there is no oil or grease in the recipe. Perhaps it depends on the tmayders (tomatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I had high hopes for this recipe and thought it would be a good alternative to frying the tomatoes. I added my usual favorite spices to give it a kick, and threw them in the oven. There was nothing to make the coating adhere and crispy - it was like dumping cornmeal on a cooked tomato. Perhaps mixing a small amount of oil in the mixture of cornmeal and spices might help with the texture. I'll give that a try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Much better than fried! Crispy, not greasy. I cut my tomatoes about 1/4 inch but will make them a bit thicker next time. I let the slices rest for awhile, then shook them in a bag with the corn meal (+ seasoned bread crumbs), and flipped them 1/2 way through baking. They were crisp on the outside and perfectly done on the inside. We'll make these again before all the green tomatoes are gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Davidson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This was good but did lack in seasoning, so I will add a little garlic or onion powder next time, but overall good for a baked tomato, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Yum! I didn't slice most of my tomatoes thin enough so the majority didn't get crispy, but thye were still tasty. They need to be pretty thin, like less than 1/4", to get them really nice and crisp. I served them with the dill sauce from Hudson's Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce from this site. Thanks!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
this is good and even better with a few changes--spray the slices with olive oil spam and then dredge in the cornmeal--i did this by first laying all of the slices in the baking sheet--spraying them all-flipping them all-spaying other side and then dipping and cooking--add what ever spices you want --i added a smokey spice--i like the slices pretty thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Neither my husband nor myself cared for this. It was too sour and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Fork, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States