Baked Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Anyone who wants a great "fried" green tomato recipe that will not cover the flavor and tang of the tomatoes AND will not clog your arteries, this is it! I used the basic recipe and tweaked it to my taste--no dill, but did use pepper, salt, garlic powder and onion powder in the cornmeal, then shook just a touch of Parmesean on top of each tomato slice after placing them on the pan and giving them a quick spray of canola oil ... I thought they were divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
It was great! I made it for my mom on Mother's Day and she was thrilled!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Much better than fried! Crispy, not greasy. I cut my tomatoes about 1/4 inch but will make them a bit thicker next time. I let the slices rest for awhile, then shook them in a bag with the corn meal (+ seasoned bread crumbs), and flipped them 1/2 way through baking. They were crisp on the outside and perfectly done on the inside. We'll make these again before all the green tomatoes are gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I am always searching for lowfat alternatives to my favorites. I have lost over 25 lbs by doing this. These were a little bland compared to the fried in butter kind - but when trying to remain healthy - i've learned to mix and match lower fat options. These needed a little more spice and that's it. Thanks for the recipie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
this is good and even better with a few changes--spray the slices with olive oil spam and then dredge in the cornmeal--i did this by first laying all of the slices in the baking sheet--spraying them all-flipping them all-spaying other side and then dipping and cooking--add what ever spices you want --i added a smokey spice--i like the slices pretty thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
No, it's not quite as tasty as the fried variety but the health benefits make up for the difference. I did substitute garlic salt. I have made this several times and experimented with different seasonings. A good alternative fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I would only give this recipe four stars based on the changes I made to it, otherwise, it seems too bland, and I personally don't like a lot of dill. This recipe is definitely health-conscious, and the changes I made are not...but it's still not fried which must count for something! Instead of cornmeal, I used panko to which I added melted butter, a pinch of ground cayenne pepper and used another reviewer's suggestion of grated parmesan cheese. I dipped the salted/peppered tomato slices in an egg wash before covering with the panko mixture. I baked according to the instructions but placed the tomatoes on top of a wire cooling rack inside of a foil-covered cookie sheet. This allowed the bottoms to become somewhat crisp without having to turn over. I made these for a party and they were a big hit. Everyone wanted to know how I did it. I served them on a platter with a dipping sauce I made from a Hidden Valley Ranch mix and added a couple drops of Tobasco Chipotle Pepper Sauce for an extra kick. These are messy which I think is their only downfall, but very good. Serve them right out of the oven if you can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Yum! I didn't slice most of my tomatoes thin enough so the majority didn't get crispy, but thye were still tasty. They need to be pretty thin, like less than 1/4", to get them really nice and crisp. I served them with the dill sauce from Hudson's Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce from this site. Thanks!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
A good variation on this recipe is adding dried ranch seasoning to the cornmeal mixture- it adds a bit more flavor. It's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This was good but did lack in seasoning, so I will add a little garlic or onion powder next time, but overall good for a baked tomato, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States