Baked Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
The concept of this recipe is GREAT- Yes, you need to season it more but if you follow the process-slice thin, flour, egg wash, cornmeal/breadcrumbs you get a great alternative to fried green tomatoes. And they reheat wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I would only give this recipe four stars based on the changes I made to it, otherwise, it seems too bland, and I personally don't like a lot of dill. This recipe is definitely health-conscious, and the changes I made are not...but it's still not fried which must count for something! Instead of cornmeal, I used panko to which I added melted butter, a pinch of ground cayenne pepper and used another reviewer's suggestion of grated parmesan cheese. I dipped the salted/peppered tomato slices in an egg wash before covering with the panko mixture. I baked according to the instructions but placed the tomatoes on top of a wire cooling rack inside of a foil-covered cookie sheet. This allowed the bottoms to become somewhat crisp without having to turn over. I made these for a party and they were a big hit. Everyone wanted to know how I did it. I served them on a platter with a dipping sauce I made from a Hidden Valley Ranch mix and added a couple drops of Tobasco Chipotle Pepper Sauce for an extra kick. These are messy which I think is their only downfall, but very good. Serve them right out of the oven if you can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
No, it's not quite as tasty as the fried variety but the health benefits make up for the difference. I did substitute garlic salt. I have made this several times and experimented with different seasonings. A good alternative fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Unfortunately, they don't compare to the fried version. The texture is off, but they taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Nothing really beats fried...but these were all right. I did my own spice blend, including pepper, salt and a garlic and herb mixture. Next time, I think I'll try to flip them in the middle and perhaps dip the tomato slices in egg before the cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
After reading other reviews, I added quite a bit more spice (cayenne, lots of seasoned salt, pepper, garlic and onion powders)to the cornmeal. I also cut the tomatoes very thin and dipped them in egg before the cornmeal. I sprayed the cookie sheet and the tops of the tomatoes with Pam before baking and flipped them once during cooking. They came out very flavorful and crisp. I actually fried some of the ones I made to compare and the baked ones are better! They are crisper and way less greasy tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Definitely not crunchy but worth it, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This is a nice, healthy alternative but not as good as the more fattening recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Rosenthal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
These are a great alternative to fried green tomatoes. I followed the recipe exactly but after 45 minutes, the cornmeal on the underside was still raw and "dusty". I flipped them over, sprinkled with additional oil, and put them under the broiler. Some serving suggestions: use them on a sandwich instead of ripe tomatoes or stack them with chevre between slices and top with roasted red pepper aioli. Less messy, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This is a more than acceptable substitute for fried green tomatoes! I did find the corn meal was a little dry - next time I will try less or moisten it a little. The dill is a nice touch. I roasted the tomatoes at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States