Baked Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2000
Had it not been for the butter, I would have rated this recipe even higher. Roasting is a wonderful way to prepare/serve garlic. Unfortunately, butter is really bad for your body. Why not subsitute olive oil + a pinch of salt as the necessary fat? It isn't as quick, and it's a bit on the messy side, but, your arteries will thank you, later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2000
This was really yummy and quick. In lieu of the butter, I subsituted olive oil with a dash of salt. (As suggested by a previous reviewer)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
My husband and I really enjoyed this. I made one for each of us and we still fought over who was getting more. ; ) I cut off about a quarter of an inch off the bottom of the bulbs (the pointy end) before cooking. It was a lot easier to squeeze the garlic out the end. I think the cooking time needs to be extended to 35-40 minutes. My garlic was still a little tough. I also would dribble garlic over the top of the bulb as well as in the bottom of the aluminum foil packet. But, overall very easy and delicious. (fyi, one nice italian restaurant we go to serves a bulb of baked garlic, 3 pats of cream cheese and 5 pieces of crispy herb brushetta for 6.95. Now I can make this at home for cheap)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
~*~YUMMY TO THE TUMMY~*~(If you like garlic that is)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
I used olive oil instead of butter. Much more traditional and healthier. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
you cant go wrong with baked garlic. i took the advice of others and used olive oil and salt. excellent. it is true, however, it takes about 40-45 minutes to get soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Hmm, maybe I did something wrong, but my garlic was still kinda hard after the cooking time. But after I left it in there for a much, much longer time, it turned out nice! I could not bring myself to put butter on it though, so I used olive oil instead. Thanks! ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
Stick to the recipe, use butter. Olive oil can be a little overpowering, it tastes nicer with butter, and butter isn't as bad as it's made out to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I love garlic and this is the spleist way to get my fix. Nothing to it. I do cut down the butter by a 3rd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Superb! I used olive oil and a squirt of butter-flavored cooking spray. I absolutely agree that it needs to cook a little longer than stated - ours were perfect after 45 mins. Thanks, Joan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Garlic Seasoned Baked Pork Chops

A simple, flavorful way to bake pork chops.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States