Baked Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
Baked fudge is NOT fudge. I can see how the name is misleading, but it is NOT supposed to be like the fudge that you get at the candy store. It's also not like brownies-- it's supposed to be a little runny and mushy. The reviewers who have given this one star based on the fact that it is mushy have not made a mistake-- that's how it is SUPPOSED to turn out if it is baked fudge. If you want baked fudge, this is a fantastic recipe. If you want candy fudge or brownies, this is not the recipe for you. That being said... I love my grandmother's baked fudge and this was just like it! It was so delicious that I ate about two full servings- after a full meal- and I usually can't even finish one adult dessert serving. Mmmmm. I was a little intimidated about the roasting pan and the water, but it was very easy and VERY VERY worth it! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
This is a fantastic recipe! No, as others have stated, it is NOT fudge... more like a VERY fudgy brownie, but still great. I added a litlle extra cocoa (about 1 1/2 TBS) and sprinkled mini chocolate chips on top before baking. Excellent seved warm with a scoop of french vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
This recipe tastes great! I only gave it 3 stars, because of a few things about the way it's described: 1) As someone else pointed out, this isn't fudge. It's delicious, but not fudge. 2) I followed all directions, but 50-60 minutes at 300 degrees doesn't cook this. I cooked it almost 1 and a half hours at 300, and still had pudding in the bottom of the pan. Increasing the oven to 425 and cooking another 10 minutes finished it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2000
This is not fudge, nor is it anything even close. It is brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I don't care if this is healty or "NOT FUDGE" as previous reviews, all I know is this stuff is good. Yes, I'm not good at making flan as this is to be baked..mine turned out gooey not set. But the first smell, the first look...this was..OH..the spoon came out of the drawer, I waited for it to cool a little, I ..I...it was a Saturday...I took it to bed with me..I didn't stop..spoon full after spoonful...as I kept telling myself this is bad but I didn't care I just kept going...it was getting all over..I lost control...after wiping my mouth with my top sheet i put the pan on my night table. My cat was sitting on the corner of my bed looking at me with ears down in disgust..this was truly the best and dirtyest thing I've ever done in bed and I will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
Well, there is no doubt that this recipe is absolutely delicious. Mine didn't come out the right texture, though (it was really globby, like a pudding cake), probably because I used self-rising flour instead of regular. Oh well...better luck next time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Very, very fudgie brownie! It makes a crisp crust on top and ooey-gooey in the middle. I added 1 Tb more cocoa. My husband loved it and said it was so chocolatey. It sets up as it cools, so I recommend cooling it very well before eating. Even better the next day, if it is still around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
This had the most wonderful chocolate flavor and was easy to put together. I had to use a 9x9 pan and I couldn't tell if it was done at the end of the 60 minutes. I jiggled the pan and the top was set. I should have used a toothpick because the bottom was a fudgesauce. So I realize I should have baked it longer. I finished my pan up in the microwave. Turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
They're so good, they practically melt in my mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I made some alterations to this recipe. 1 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder, instead of 1/2 of a cup. 1 cup of melted Nutiva Extra Virgin Coconut Oil (It promotes weight loss, and a feel of satiety, so I do not end up eating the entire tray of fudge!!!) 2 cups of melted semi-sweet chocolate chip. I replaced the 2 cups of sugar with semi-sweet chocolate chips. It gave the fudge more of a 'chocolatey' tase, because I love chocolate. I put the coconut oil and the semi-sweet chocolate chips together in a bowl and melted it, and I let it cool for about 15mins. before adding it to my dry ingredients. I did not use any pecans. I did not have any at home. The fudge was divine, and I only ate 4 pieces, instead of the whole tray, because of made it with the Extra Virgin Coconut oi, instead of melted butter. I added a frosting topping for daughter. She likes icing on her fudge and brownies. PS. Make sure to cook fudge at 275 degrees, because coconut oil burns at a high temperature! I let it bake for 35mins, and I removed it from the oven. What a treat. You will love it like this if you a chocolate lover!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States