Baked Fried Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
A lot quicker than other methods but was still quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Made as directed but added a sprinkle of garlic powder to the bread crumbs. I used 3/4 cup of sour cream, and actually could have used just 1/2 cup with one large egg beaten into it. Used parchment paper on the cookie sheet, brushed lightly with olive oil. Next time, I'll have a second parchment paper sheet prepared with the olive oil, so when I turn them over it will be onto a freshly greased sheet. I recommend increasing the oven temp to 375 deg. I like the outsides crisp, and the insides almost mushy. This is by far the best recipe I've ever used for oven 'fried' baked eggplant slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I use Vegan Ranch Dressing instead of sour cream and it was DEEELLISSSHHHH!!! Crispy and no mushy insides!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Al Tilman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I liked the recipe but I didn't use sour cream. The breadcrumbs I used were "Contadina"Italian with Herbs & spices, I also mixed into the egg some latin ingredients that are home made plus Ranch Buffalo Dip & Butter and the flour. I then dipped the eggplant into all the mixture and coated it with the breadcrumbs. Baked in the oven for 25 minutes turning them once over. I then removed them and fried them golden brown. My neighbors said they were the best Eggplant they had ever tasted. Iris La Aguadillana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Tasty, but took longer to cook than she had indicated, although that is easy enough to fix. I'm very glad to find a good eggplant recipe that isn't fried or a casserole. It is a little bland; my family liked it better with added salt. And I did use light sour cream, which didn't seem to cause any problems. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I have made this several times already and really enjoy it! I usually serve it with spaghetti squash for a low card, meatless meal. It is a refreshing change to not serve meat as a main entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Snyder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I never had eggplant before so I was kind of leery. This was pretty good and will make again. I saved some of the seeds and will plant them in my garden next year. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Fantastic base for eggplant. After turning it we added a 1/4 inch slice of mozzarella and a slice of tomato the baked for 20 minutes. Everybody takes the recipe home with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Read through all the reviews as this was baking so was a bit concerned it would be bland. Just took it out of the oven and it's excellent! Used 1/2 seasoned bread crumbs and panko with 1/4 c Parmesan, 1 T Italian seasoning and pepper added. Have found that if floured item "rests" for a few minutes while mixing the the rest of the coatings, there is no issue with clumps falling off. There was A LOT of leftover breadcrumbs. Baked this at 350 on a rack after spraying with olive oil - sprinkled on a bit of garlic powder after turning, sprayed flip side with olive oil and raised the oven rack to help crisping based on other reviews. As always when oven frying, will cool and refrigerate until dinner time & then reheat @400 until warmed through and really golden & crispy. Sour cream adds a nice tasty tang! Thanks for sharing a great, easy to personalize recipe Kris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Not too bad. I did what another reviewer said and rubbed the eggplant in lemon juice & salt for 30 min. and then washed and prepared as stated. We did end up pan frying them in a little bacon grease because they were just too mushy still after baking. Not too bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States