Baked Fresh Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Great cherry pie! My dad requested a cherry ie for his birthday dessert and he raved on this pie as well as the rest of us. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fulsome-cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This is a very great Cherry Pie Recipe. I have made this pie for the holidays and everyone enjoys it. I only find one problem with this recipe. It lacks to tell you that you should drain and reserve some of the cherry pie filling. Whether your going to use Canned or homemade you should definitely make sure you drain and reserve the cherry juice. My best advice is drain all the juice from your canned or fresh cherrys. place the cherry filling into a bowl then add 1/3 full of cherry juice to it. Just enough so that it almost like you can see the juice raising up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I made this cherry pie last night and it was delicious beyond belief or description. I followed the recipe except that I didn't have the almond extract so I doubled the vanilla. I added a teaspoon of lemon juice too because I was concerned that my cherries were too sweet. I have read tart cherries are the best and that they have a short season. Mine were delicious raw so I figured they had to be on the sweet side so I added the lemon juice for tartness which I read was the answer to that problem. Two packages of cherries equalled a generous 4 cups pitted. I had a tough time finding tapioca because I didn't realize all I needed was the Minute Tapioca by Kraft. Somehow I thought tapioca starch was a different product. I made a basket weave crust, brushed it with egg whites and sprinkled it with an extra large grain decorative sugar crystals. The sugar was gorgeous and made the top sparkle. I loved the texture it added to the final product as well. I made a foil crust guard which I never took off and the crust was nicely browned. It might have been due to the sugar topping. I put a cookie sheet under the pie but it did not drip one little bit. I cooled it on a rack and cut it about 1 and 1/2 hour later. It was by far the best cherry pie I have ever eaten. My husband was blown away by it too. It was just so special. It sliced perfectly too. Even the first slice was magazine perfect. We served it with vanilla ice cream. I can't say enough good about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
not sweet enough....i didn't think it was very good. next time i'll try something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
My first ever made from scratch pie and it was delicous! After reading some of the reviews I was worried it would be too runny so I used 5 TBL of the tapioca instead of 4 and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This recipe is very delicious! Just a tip do not omit the almond extract. I made this twice, and the first time I made this I didn't have any almond extract. So I just added more vanilla extract, it turned out good but you could tell something was missing. I went out and got almond extract to try again and it made the pie soooo much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I can understand that this recipe would appeal to certain tastes. Unfortunately my family was not keen on the Tapioca. Very solid with a granular texture. 400 for 50 munites was way to hot and too long. Took the pie out at 40 minutes and it was cooked completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Made it for my husband this week. His favorite pie is cherry pie and fresh cherries were available. I'd never made a cherry pie without the canned stuff but the husband said this filling was wonderful. We're in discussions about the crust. :) We'll definitely be keeping and using this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
My cherries were sweet so I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. It was still too sweet. I also cut the almond extract to 1/8 tsp. I think next time I would omit the almond extract altogether and adjust the sugar according to how sweet the cherries are. The pie turned out great and I would use this recipe again with a few minor changes! I give it 4 1/2 stars but don't know how to put 1/2 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Yum! I didn't have almond extract, but I added a little lemon zest and cinnamon to the cherry mixture, and used the topping from http://allrecipes.com/recipe/dutch-apple-berry-pie/detail.aspx . The Dutch Cherry Pie was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States