Baked Fresh Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by VSAMBOB
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Added 1 can cherry filling for consistency. Grandkids helped pick cherries. Got to be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VSAMBOB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Today I'll be baking the 2nd pie from this recipe for this week. It is the best cherry pie we've ever had, and it is one of the easiest to make. There is nothing I would change about this recipe. I used the frozen pie cherries (unsweetened - just cherries) and it worked out very well. I took the advice of another viewer and added an extra cup because they were frozen. I've GOT to find a source for fresh cherries. Thanks so much for sharing this one. I have no reason to look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I think I have made this 3 or four times this summer. Easy and delicious. Yes, you do need to wait for it to sit and cool for a few hours. If you do the pie sets up beautifully. I reduced the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I haven't tried making a fruit pie before..but I had picked up the last of local sour cherries and decided that I couldn't eat 6L of it fresh myself, something must be done! This recipe turned out wonderful..but the almond and vanilla flavouring I agree, kind of makes it taste like the fake cherry pie grocery store pies. I would leave it out next time so I can taste the real fresh cherries. I used a straw to pit the cherries, which were quite small. I found the cherries to eat fresh not really tart at all (fresh raspberries are more tart) but I was suprised that even after adding the recommeded mount of sugar that the cherries now tasted more sour? Whaat?! Either way, I liked it! On to raspberry pie next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WOOBSIEE
Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Look no further!! This is the best recipe for homemade cherry pie. A cherry pitter makes this job simple. Everyone raved about this pie. Thank you for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I used a Tenderflake "Deep Dish" pie shell for this and it still overflowed! Lots of yummy goodness! Also, I didn't quite have enough cherries, so I used 1.5cups diced rhubarb. I served it at a dinner party and everyone raved about it. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Nothing like homemade cherry pie in the middle of an Alberta winter! I pit/ freeze 4 cup bags of cherries in the summer. Use all of the juices, with the cherries as they thaw. My husband's favorite pie has always been cherry,,,,he has become diabetic, so I use splenda It is still a hit! The best cherry pie! Plum full of all fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMOM2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Fabulous Recipe! I've been using this recipe for years now and have always gotten compliments on this pie! If you like almond, feel free to double the almond extract, it is delicious. A few hints: Taste your cherries! If they are sweet, 1 C sugar is more than enough, if not, you may need to double the sugar; If you don't have a cherry pitter, use a plastic straw; if you don't have tapioca then just leave it out, all the other thickener subs make it taste funny; put a pinch of sugar into your sweet pie crusts, it ties the filling and crust together better; Use 1/2 crisco and 1/2 butter in your pie crusts, makes it easier to handle and helps it from getting tough if you overmix the crust; When greasing/spraying the pie dish, grease underneath the rim so when the pie drips in comes off easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I've only made this once so far and it was super easy and super yummy!! I actually goofed when I made this and forgot to add the sugar (long story) but even with NO sugar this was a very yummy pie!!! When I make this again, I will be sure to add sugar, but maybe only a 1/2 cup since the pie was perfect with out the sugar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldengirl911

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Juices did not solidify. It tasted excellent otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States