Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This is the best baked french toast recipe I've tried yet. Maybe since I used Challah bread, mine was a bit drier and less like bread pudding (which I preferred). Too often I've ended up with a soggy bread, eggy mess. This actaully looked like french toast slices I had cooked in a pan. When I poured on the egg mixture the bread immediately soaked it up (and there were a few dry spots so I even added a couple more eggs) maybe that is the secret. I didn't do the apples (but will certainly try that) since I was also serving a crockpot oatmeal with apples and raisins. Instead, after baking, I arragned the slices on a platter, topped with fresh sliced bananas, and then drizzled the caramel sauce over them - delish!!! and quite an impressive presentation, too. You could even add walnuts or pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I just served this to a large group and my guest loved it! It was the hit of my brunch. The carmel sauce maked this dish very special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
this is rich and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I made this recipie for my daughters slumber party. I was very busy with the girls and forgot to make it the night before. I assembled it a couple of hours before breakfast. Then baked it. It turned out great. The girls loved it. I did not make the sauce, I was too tired...I just used maple syrup. It did stick to the pan, next time I will spray it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
This was so good. The sauce was very tasty. I would just make the sauce and serve it over ice cream. I made this Hawaiian Bread II, and it was a good choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
This was one of the "best" recipes I have ever made. It was a sure hit at a family breakfast get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
I love fixing this on weekends, and since I fix it the night before I can sleep in! My kids (4 and 6) love this; my husband and I both love bread pudding, so we like the consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
I enjoied this however it was more like Bread pudding than french toast. I did make it with sugar twin on the bread adn served the apples on the side, since my Mother-in-law is a diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
This french toast was great! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
I made this twice last year for the holidays and instead of chopping my own apples, I bought apple pie filling and used that instead. It came out great and everyone asked for the recipe. I also used a jar of caramel ice cream topping instead of making my own caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States