Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by LovesBaking
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I read the rest of the reviews before I started and I'm glad I tweaked it according to what the reviewers had written. I used 7 eggs and 1 1/2cups milk only. I also reduced the sugar and butter caramel. The result was a crispy top and a soft bottom. My colleagues who had it like it too. I'll attempt this again for my family members next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesBaking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hougang, North-East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Reduce liquid*. I made this with 2 cups of milk and seven eggs, omitted the half and half and the center was still soggy, outside crispy and delicious! After reading reviews in the future I plan on using the 1in French bread but letting it get a little stale prior to adding the liquid and flipping the bread to help soak up to liquid. As for the liquid 6 eggs and 1 3/4cups of milk or half and half and milk combined, I don't think I'll be adding more than that. For the topping, I used 1/2 cup of butter and 1 cup of brown sugar, maple syrup, this was just perfect. Overall great dish and one you can be creative with and will taste great even if a little soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Alishofski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Oh yeah; it was good. Ended up using the changes Michelle Mullis suggested. Only change I made from there was cutting that recipe in half to share between my wife and I. I ate most of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcus Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Yes I have prepared this dish quite a few times and I love it as do my guests! I make it with Croissant rolls that I cut in half instead of French bread! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rockerchick
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made this for Christmas brunch it was a hit! I did a few of the tweaks that users recommended and it was perfect! Dried the French bread slightly the night before in the oven on 200 on both sides for about 20 minutes total. I used six or seven eggs and I cut the milk down to one cup. I used a teaspoon and a half of cinnamon. And I used maple syrup instead of light syrup for the topping. I flipped the bread halfway through the overnight soaking process so it went completely through on both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made the alterations to the recipe as I saw fit having read the previous reviews. I used 6 eggs and two cups of half and half - these were the only changes I made other than baking a longer period of required and not pouring the sugar/butter mixture until 2/3 into the cooking process. It tasted great! Def will make again for brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary O'Rourke Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I make this every Christmas, it's a new tradition. Don't worry about the reviews, everybody has different tastes, likes and dislikes. The type of bread you use *will* make a difference. A softer bread (softer, not fresher, there's a difference) will absorb the egg better. If you like your French toast very eggy, leave recipe as is. If you like it drier, decrease the liquids significantly. Try it and figure out how to make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this using the 6 eggs & 2 cups half and half, suggested by another reviewer. It was great and not soggy. The entire family loved it. However, I first tried to use a 9by13 pyrex dish, but all the slices didn't fit. I transferred my slices to a larger casserole dish that I have and all the slices fit. I'm glad I ended up using the larger dish because the bread puffs up while baking and some of the sauce spilled over the side. I can only imagine what happens with a smaller pyrex size. The other change we'll make for next time is to make half the sauce. The dish was too sweet for my family. I felt like I served dessert instead of breakfast. Will use half of the sauce next time and top with pecans to try it a little differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I have made this exactly as the recipe is written and is a favorite of my family... IN FACT, have it ready to put in the oven for Christmas breakfast... everyone is SO looking forward to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
My whole family LOVES this recipe! I use it with whatever bread product (any type of plain flavor bread, buns, dinner rolls etc.) I have left over and it works every time. My favorite are dinner rolls and burger buns from the old-fashioned bakery where I work! I also use a slightly bigger (and deeper) pan than a 9x13 and the topping doesn't bubble over this way. Otherwise, just try placing the pan on a foil-covered cookie sheet to save yourself from cleaning a mess! I just fill this pan with a layer (at least 1 in. thick) of bread/buns and then pour over about half of the egg/milk mixture. Repeat and refrigerate covered overnight! I use 10-12 eggs and 4 cups of whole milk as well as about 1/2 cup of flour and 1/4 cup of sugar and 1/2 tsp cinnamon plus the vanilla in the egg/milk mixture! Next morning, I make the topping and bake as directed! It is a bit like bread pudding only a lot better! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States