Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
DO NOT make this recipe as is. Take into consideration the reviews and decrease the amount of liquid in the recipe. Mine ended up crispy on the top and the rest mush. Good flavor, just NOT the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Biggs
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Use thicker slices and bake a little longer and then there is no need to tweak this receipe...I used challah bread..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Made this for 5 nine year old boys & a 4 year old boy. It was a hit! Tasted great with no recipe modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Soggy...Soggy! Way too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I loved this recipe! It's breakfast and a cinnamon roll at the same time. Since there are only three of us, I adjusted it this way and it was perfect, plus lactose free:1/2 loaf of French bread/6 1" slices, 4 eggs, 1 cup lactose free milk, 1 t. vanilla, 1/8 t. cinnamon and I halved the topping, but used Dark Karo instead of light. Did what a few others did by turning the pieces of bread over before cooking, covering it for the first 20 mins, and pouring the topping over and cooking it uncovered the last 20 mins. It was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSDPT
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe!!! It's so versatile....I love swapping in light eggnog for the cream, and I always use egg whites vs eggs. Very yummy, but very high cal and fat ?? I mostly use challah bread, but today am trying with potuguese sweetbread. I'm sure it will be equally as yummy. Lastly, I find the sauce holds up best with either one of two things...adding it half way through cooking, or doubling butter/maple syrup and keeping the brown sugar as is. Most times it takes more than an hour to cook enough, and that turns the sauce into a crust. If you like a wet custard type french toast you may not have this problem so much, but my kiddos won't go for that lol. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Like the bread pudding I always hated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Meh. It didn't turn out as fabulous as I was envisioning it would. I only put in 1 cup milk and 1 cup creme, and although they weren't soggy, it didn't brown the way French toast normally does when you fry them in a pan. I guess I should've greased my pan too because I couldn't flip them over like some people did. I ended up putting butter in a pan and frying up my french toast for a bit. For the sauce, I melted butter, put in sliced granny smith apples and 1/3C brown sugar. I think I'll just stick to frying it up in a pan than baking. I like the soaking overnight idea though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States