Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Great recipe by Paula Dean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
First time I followed directions exactly and felt it needed adjustments. The next time I used what I had in the pantry. Made the recipe about 4 hours ahead of time for a brunch. I used 1 1/2 loaves of cinnamon swirl bread, 6 eggs, 2 cups of half and half with just 1 cup of brown sugar, used maple syrup and omitted milk - kept other ingredients the same. Turned out beautifully, not too soggy or sweet. It did not need the extra step of flipping the bread midway through cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsinelas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I tried this recipe for the first time for a family brunch and it was delicious. I did use heavy whipping cream rather than half and half because I bought the wrong stuff but can't say if it made a difference. I did not read the other reviews before making the dish and had no problems. It is very sweet, but everyone liked it. In fact, we ate on it all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I love this recipe and make it every time I have brunch. The only thing I do differently is I use older bread as its nice to get rid of day old bread and I rip it into pieces versus using sliced bread. I get great compliments and there is never any leftovers- 5 stars all the way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paul Hallmark
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Followed the recipe, but I made bread pudding style. French bread cut in cubes. I added saltine toffee crumbles (left over from V day)Maybe a half cup of them. Also made a strawberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Hallmark

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Easy and it was a huge hit for our Sunday brunch!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
My head was spinning after reading the reviews - but it came out great!!! Here's what I went with: 6 eggs, 2 cups 1/2 & 1/2, a little more than 1/4 cup cinnamon, cut bread diagonally 1 1/2 - 2 inches thick, dunked each piece in egg mixture then poured rest over bread. Let it soak overnight and next morning flip all pieces and bake covered 20-30 mins and then flip again before pouring sauce over and bake uncovered for remainder. Used maple syrup instead of corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
As written, way too much liquid and was just mush. I took other reviewers tips ... 6 eggs, 2 cups of liquid, and doubled the cinnamon and vanilla. It was still just okay in flavor. Maybe try with a cinnamon bread or something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States