Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This is very close to Paula Deen's baked French toast recipe, and, as written, is only OK. There was way too much liquid and it just didn't cook through well (results were mushy, although very sugary which enticed kids to eat it). BUT if you follow the suggestions by most of the reviewers, this can be amazing. You MUST cut down liquid to 6 eggs and 1.5 C half-and-half/milk. You will very likely need more than one loaf of bread, and slices should be 1.5-2" thick. Cut the bread and let it dry out overnight before soaking it in the egg/milk mixture. Other great suggestions (and I think they are essential to this turning out well) are (1) to cover the dish for the first 30 min (ensures even baking), then uncovered for another 20-30 min; (2) flip the pieces when you go from covered to uncovered; and (3) put on the sauce after you flip the pieces, just before you put back in oven to bake uncovered. Other more minor things that I followed was to replace the corn syrup in the sauce with maple syrup (I did not have corn syrup), add nuts to the sauce (pecans or walnuts are lovely), and I didn't bother with pre-heating the sauce, I just used the heat from the toast to get warm and spreadable. Following the major tips from the reviewers will result in a 6 star dish. My dp does not like sweets, but he LOVED this. Ate almost half the pan himself! And he's already requesting it again! Can't say I don't mind...this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was so easy and fantastic! Big hit at brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I love sugary sweets, and this is sweet! No maple syrup required, but awesome with whipped cream! Makes a great dessert too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaskedMan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I never had baked French Toast before, so when a friend wanted to stop in early one morning, while her husband was having health tests, I decided it was time. I prepared the recipe just exactly as written. It was very good! It was very custard like. I will make this again, but won't use as much milk. I think it will become a 5 star recipe then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
One suggestion that makes it less soggy is using day old bagels. If they are cinnamon raisin or another sweet type bagel or plain it works well. Slice in half and be sure to saturate both sides of the bagel. Bagels will absorb a lot of the egg/milk that you soak them in but will not get soggy like regular bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Kind of soggy but everyone liked it. I toasted the bread first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Amazing! I made this for my family to wake up to on Christmas morning and everyone was absolutely loving it! Next time I would just use less of the egg/milk mixture because the bottom of the french toast was a little runny, and I like things more well-done. But if you like things more runny, leave it the way it is, because I got NO complaints!! De-Lish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Really good and easy! I might increase the butter or decrease the brown sugar since as the french toast cools a bit, that mix gets hard and crunchy. Will make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I can't tell you how many times I have made this! Every girls weekend I am in charge of breakfast and as always, everyone LOVES it! The only thing I do different is I use fat free cream and skim milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
EXCELLENT! I did make changes per reviews. I used 6 eggs, 2 cups half & half (no milk), 2 tsp vanilla and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon. I only soaked about 6 hours (made for dinner). Next time I will slice bread in 2" slices (as another reviewer suggested) so all slices fit in pan. Sit out for a bit while heating oven, poured sauce over and baked at 400 for about 30 minutes. Lowered to 350 and let bake until it no longer looked soggy. All 7 family members loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,095) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States