Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Bo
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Everyone loved this, it definitely was a winner and I will be making it again! I used Sally Lunn bread instead of French or Italian and added some nutmeg and followed the modifications that other reviewers suggested and it turned out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This time of year is all about ease! I simply used holiday eggnog, comes with all the spice and wonderful flavor!!! Perfection for several years now using cinnamon-raisin or sourdough bread...what ever I feel like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
After reading reviews went with 7 eggs, no milk, 2 cups whipping cream and maple syrup instead of corn syrup. Also flipped bread after a couple hours of the overnight stay. Cooked 20 minutes, flipped and added coating for final 20 minutes. Was good but too sweet for our liking. Swedish pancakes next Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I am a breastfeeding mother with a baby who has a milk sensitivity so I made the following substitutions and it was delicious! Coconut milk (replaced milk), canned coconut (replaced cream), maple syrup instead of butter, reduced corn syrup to 1.5tbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
must be me, other reviews were great. tasted good, just not "French Toast"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
A new great Christmas tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I can't exactly "rate" this recipe yet. But I liked the way it read. As others did, I made a couple of modifications. First, since it is Christmas, I like to splurge on fat content in my food. We all know that fat makes the food taste better, so I substituted heavy whipping cream for the 1/2 and 1/2 (if I was on a dairy farm, I would have used the sweet cream). Secondly, my kids, in particular, my son has a healthy appreciation for cinnamon (he is a savory eater, but cinnamon is his thing to mitigate "sweetness"); a 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon didn't seem to be enough, so I subsequently put in a full teaspoon. Bottom line: 1.5 cups heavy whipping cream and 1 tsp cinnamon are my modifications. I will see what it tastes like later today. Merry Christmas all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTOWNWINGNUT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orchard Beach, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe for the last 3 years for Christmas breakfast. We love it!! All the right ingredients are present you just have to design it to your taste and texture preferences. I reduced the milk to 1c milk and used the half & half has shown. I use 6 eggs. I us1 tsp cinnamon. In the morning, I turned each piece of bread, cover with foil for 20 mins, then pour sauce over and bake another 20 mins without the foil. I have used maple syrup instead of corn syrup, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I tried this last night and when I tell you its good, OFF THE CHAIN! Of course I put my on spin but not much. I took some advice from other commenters and left out the milk, 2c half and half, 6 eggs, much more cinnamon maybe 2-3tb(the best part),1/2t ground cloves,1/2t ground allspice. I don't have time to be soaking bread(because I'm ready to eat)I soaked for about 40m turning the bread over after 20m then cooked as directed. For the sauce, I didn't have corn syrup so guess what, didn't miss it lol. My growing boys almost finished the pan, I had to say, "you had enough"! I thought it was a little eggy so next time I'll try 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Amazing with the changes I made. Everyone loves it and it will be our Christmas breakfast. I used 1/2 loaf home made wheat bread, 6 eggs, 2 cups milk, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 1/2 cup pumpkin. I dipped the bread before putting it in the pan. There was very little liquid left. Soaked over night and used honey instead of kero syrup. It was amazing. We also cooked it a little longer uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States