Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Beezoes
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Made it per the recipe and it was fabulous! Cooked extra 10 min for the soggy middle issue but let sit for 10 min after taking out of the oven & everything was great. Very hot so it needs to cool before serving. Really more like a bread pudding than frenchtoast but would be awesome holiday breakfast for a group. Mimosas, fresh fruit and you're set. Next time might try adding bit of brandy & cream cheese for some of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This has a good flavor and is easy to make, but it is too moist. I even left out some of the egg/milk mix because I thought it was too much, and then it was still very mushy. I will make this again but with probably half the milk & half and half. I also added 1/2 cup chopped pecans before pouring on the caramel glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Upon removal from the oven, it was so soggy and unappetizing. I turned everything over and baked for another 20 minutes. I've changed the recipe based on tips, but agree that it's no 4-star recipe when so many of the reviews tell you how to change it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FearlessKnitter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Park Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blueeyescd
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Made this for New Year's Day breakfast. We absolutely loved it!! I made it exactly as written except for using 2 c half and half and turning the bread over in the dish before baking. It came out perfect. Not too mushy. I think the extra milk might have made it a bit soggy. I topped it with chopped pecans before baking. Thank you for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I loved it just as it is. Gooey center and all!! I did flip the bread part way through the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bo
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Everyone loved this, it definitely was a winner and I will be making it again! I used Sally Lunn bread instead of French or Italian and added some nutmeg and followed the modifications that other reviewers suggested and it turned out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This time of year is all about ease! I simply used holiday eggnog, comes with all the spice and wonderful flavor!!! Perfection for several years now using cinnamon-raisin or sourdough bread...what ever I feel like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
After reading reviews went with 7 eggs, no milk, 2 cups whipping cream and maple syrup instead of corn syrup. Also flipped bread after a couple hours of the overnight stay. Cooked 20 minutes, flipped and added coating for final 20 minutes. Was good but too sweet for our liking. Swedish pancakes next Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I am a breastfeeding mother with a baby who has a milk sensitivity so I made the following substitutions and it was delicious! Coconut milk (replaced milk), canned coconut (replaced cream), maple syrup instead of butter, reduced corn syrup to 1.5tbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
must be me, other reviews were great. tasted good, just not "French Toast"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States