Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I've tried several overnight French toast recipes and this is by far the best. I like to add blueberries on top, just before pouring the corn syrup mixture on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This would have been a good recipe with some changes. I tasted more of the egg and cream than the french toast itself. I would reduce the number of eggs to 6 and add just one cup of half and half and a bit less milk. I'd also cut the bread a bit thicker than 1 inch. I am going to look at a similar recipe that calls for generally the same ingredients but fewer milky ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I did what Michelle Mullis suggested (6 eggs, 2 cups half and half - no milk), but in the morning, after soaking the bread all night long, I also sliced up 4 Granny Smith Apples and threw them + 1t cinnamon in the pot with the rest of the sauce ingredients and boiled them until tender. Then I spread the slices evenly over the bread and poured the sauce over top and baked as recommended. It was delicious. I will be making this again, although I may decide to play with the recipe, as it's hard to use that much cream, butter and sugar and not feel guilty about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmers70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Too soggy for us, but good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This is very close to Paula Deen's baked French toast recipe, and, as written, is only OK. There was way too much liquid and it just didn't cook through well (results were mushy, although very sugary which enticed kids to eat it). BUT if you follow the suggestions by most of the reviewers, this can be amazing. You MUST cut down liquid to 6 eggs and 1.5 C half-and-half/milk. You will very likely need more than one loaf of bread, and slices should be 1.5-2" thick. Cut the bread and let it dry out overnight before soaking it in the egg/milk mixture. Other great suggestions (and I think they are essential to this turning out well) are (1) to cover the dish for the first 30 min (ensures even baking), then uncovered for another 20-30 min; (2) flip the pieces when you go from covered to uncovered; and (3) put on the sauce after you flip the pieces, just before you put back in oven to bake uncovered. Other more minor things that I followed was to replace the corn syrup in the sauce with maple syrup (I did not have corn syrup), add nuts to the sauce (pecans or walnuts are lovely), and I didn't bother with pre-heating the sauce, I just used the heat from the toast to get warm and spreadable. Following the major tips from the reviewers will result in a 6 star dish. My dp does not like sweets, but he LOVED this. Ate almost half the pan himself! And he's already requesting it again! Can't say I don't mind...this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was so easy and fantastic! Big hit at brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I love sugary sweets, and this is sweet! No maple syrup required, but awesome with whipped cream! Makes a great dessert too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vintage American Male

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I never had baked French Toast before, so when a friend wanted to stop in early one morning, while her husband was having health tests, I decided it was time. I prepared the recipe just exactly as written. It was very good! It was very custard like. I will make this again, but won't use as much milk. I think it will become a 5 star recipe then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
One suggestion that makes it less soggy is using day old bagels. If they are cinnamon raisin or another sweet type bagel or plain it works well. Slice in half and be sure to saturate both sides of the bagel. Bagels will absorb a lot of the egg/milk that you soak them in but will not get soggy like regular bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Kind of soggy but everyone liked it. I toasted the bread first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyler Frazier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States