Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Delicious! I read many reviews and adjusted. I only used 6 eggs. I used 1C milk and 1C half and half. I used maple syrup instead of corn syrup. According to another reviewer, I dipped the french bread slices into the mixture instead of pouring. Once I placed them in a 13x9 throw away pan, I poured the remainder of the liquid over the bread. Refrigerated it overnight. Turned the slices over the next morning. Baked it for half the time (covered). Took the cover off and poured the sauce over it and continued baking, uncovered for the rest of the time. The top pieces got crispy, but the bottom was a little soggy. But I thought it still tasted delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAL315

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This was a good starting point for a baked french toast recipe. I've made many in the past and have never turned out well. This year I went with reviewers suggestions and it was pretty good. 1- used 12 slices of honey wheat bread (regular sandwich bread) 2- used 2 9x13 pans, 6 slices of bread in each 3- used 7 eggs (6 would have done it too though) 4- omitted the milk and used 2 cups half n half 5- dried the bread in the oven for 15 minutes on 300 degrees turning frequently to dry as much as possible 6- poured half the egg mixture with 2 tsp vanilla and 1 tablespoon of cinnamon into each 9x13 pan and poured off any excess into the other pan. 7- turned bread slices over to ensure all sides were coated with egg mixture. There was no leftover egg mixture pooled in the bottom of either pan. 8- let sit over night and baked at 350 for 15. 9- turned every slice of bread over at the 15 minute mark 10- made the sauce as directed but only used maybe 1/3 of the sauce 11- spooned 1 tablespoon or slightly more of sauce onto each slice of bread directly which helped cut down on the extreme sweetness. Next time I won't make the sauce at all but use regular syrup at the table to avoid eating all that butter. 12- finished baking it for 20 minutes more after the initial 15. Nothing was soggy. Both sides of the bread were actually crisp too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
only used 6 eggs, and followed reviews and flipped half way. Think if I had diced the bread it would have been even better. Turned out pretty good though, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
So delicious! I did as a few reviewers did and decreased the liquid (2 c. half & half) and used my biggest baking dish (10x15). I also added a couple of shakes of nutmeg. Other than that, I followed the recipe as stated. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Best French Toast ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Big Hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This recipe was not only east, it was hit at the breakfast party we attended. I have shared the recipe with the breakfast attendees and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibe1cent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This was really good. I have never made it before. I did add a little of my own to it. Instead of using just cinnamon, I added nutmeg and cloves. I also topped each piece of bread with sliced apples and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BuffyG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Disapointed. First, this should be called Caramel French Toast. I wasn't at all expecting such a strong caramel flavor. Secondly, the caramel topping became hard and chewy and stuck in my teeth. And lastly, way, way too sweet. I was not at all worried about the reviews saying this was too sweet. I'm someone who loves pancakes to practically float in maple syrup. But this was far too sweet for me! I'm not sure I even want to experiment with the recipe since it was so far from the regular baked french toast I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bucyrus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was very yummy, but also incredibly sweet. I put slivered almonds on top instead of pecans and I would urge anyone making this to add some type of nuts. It makes it delicious. But it sticks terribly to the pans, so put down a layer of foil or non stick paper before you bake these. I used a whole french stick and used two pans with one layer of bread. I halved the egg mix and caramel mix between them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States