Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Absolute crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
One of the few recipes I make EXACTLY as written. Great as is or topped with whipped cream and berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I have made this recipe many times and love it just as written. My latest discovery is it's a great way to use up left over toasted coconut. Just sprinkle it on before the syrup is poured on so it doesn't turn to charcoal when baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
The tops got nicely done but the bottom...yuk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was good, I would give 4 1/2 stars. First, it was pretty easy. It didn't really "feel" like french toast, more like a bread pudding, but nonetheless we enjoyed it tremendously. The middle part was a little soggy, even with 45 minutes of baking, but certainly not so soggy that we didn't eat it. The top part with the sauce was super crispy and caramelly. Super yum! No syrup needed, which was good because I was out. :) Will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peabozzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
It is Christmas morning and I was so looking forward to having this for breakfast. I am so mad because I didn't read other reviews first--mad enough to get on the computer and see what I did wrong. THERE IS WAY TOO MUCH LIQUID. The flavor is great, but the texture is that of soggy bread (sopping, soggy). My kids (from 5 - 14 years old) won't eat it because of the consistency. I will try this again, but follow some of the other reviews and decrease liquid. Don't make this as is, unless you don't mind a very, very, very moist bread pudding--which is resembles. Also, force all the bread in the bottom of the pan--make it fit. You need the big loaf to sop up all the liquid. Next time, I will cram it all in there, and decrease the liquid as suggested by other, wiser cooks than I. Ugh. Big disappointment--2 stars (toggling between 1 star--there is potential here; therefore 2 stars).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Did change it - so based on that I loved it. Used thicker slices - about 1.5-2". Also, used only 6 eggs, 1 1/4 cups of milk and 1 cup of cream. Not too sweet. Delicious. Update 11/14: Made this again. I used about 2lbs of day old homemade bread with the original recipe ingredients. Amazing again. I would use half of the ingredients for 1lb of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Really sweet & moist like Memere's. see notes for adjustments made. Perfect, well liked by boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Christmas favorite! Use good cinnamon and vanilla!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Steele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Big hit at the office thanksgiving potluck! It's pretty simple and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States