Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
The taste was wonderful but I made a huge mistake! In a rush to get food on the table for Christmas brunch, I left the foil on top of this dish when it went into the oven. It was SO soggy!! Very delicious though - I wouldn't change a thing except to pay more attention to how I baked it!! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Hooper Danner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Amazing recipe. I followed the recipe as is except for that I baked it 5-10 min longer, but it was not soggy and everyone enjoyed it thoroughly. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
My family loved this on Christmas morning. I added walnuts to the topping. Really can't be saved for leftovers. Not that there was much. Bread becomes too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
It was tasty, but soggy. If I make again, will use some others suggestion about reducing the amount of liquid prior to baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki Cabral

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This recipe had great taste but my french toast was SUPER WET. the texture was wierd. i actually used the review that said to use 6 eggs and 2 cups 1/2 and 1/2....i think that I will make it again but cut down on the liquid. Question: did you just use one layer of bread?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Wow this was amazing. I did however only use 1 cup milk and 1 cup half and half. I turned out perfectly, not mushy at all. Even better the next day!!! Will be making this again forsure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Delicious! I read many reviews and adjusted. I only used 6 eggs. I used 1C milk and 1C half and half. I used maple syrup instead of corn syrup. According to another reviewer, I dipped the french bread slices into the mixture instead of pouring. Once I placed them in a 13x9 throw away pan, I poured the remainder of the liquid over the bread. Refrigerated it overnight. Turned the slices over the next morning. Baked it for half the time (covered). Took the cover off and poured the sauce over it and continued baking, uncovered for the rest of the time. The top pieces got crispy, but the bottom was a little soggy. But I thought it still tasted delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAL315

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This was a good starting point for a baked french toast recipe. I've made many in the past and have never turned out well. This year I went with reviewers suggestions and it was pretty good. 1- used 12 slices of honey wheat bread (regular sandwich bread) 2- used 2 9x13 pans, 6 slices of bread in each 3- used 7 eggs (6 would have done it too though) 4- omitted the milk and used 2 cups half n half 5- dried the bread in the oven for 15 minutes on 300 degrees turning frequently to dry as much as possible 6- poured half the egg mixture with 2 tsp vanilla and 1 tablespoon of cinnamon into each 9x13 pan and poured off any excess into the other pan. 7- turned bread slices over to ensure all sides were coated with egg mixture. There was no leftover egg mixture pooled in the bottom of either pan. 8- let sit over night and baked at 350 for 15. 9- turned every slice of bread over at the 15 minute mark 10- made the sauce as directed but only used maybe 1/3 of the sauce 11- spooned 1 tablespoon or slightly more of sauce onto each slice of bread directly which helped cut down on the extreme sweetness. Next time I won't make the sauce at all but use regular syrup at the table to avoid eating all that butter. 12- finished baking it for 20 minutes more after the initial 15. Nothing was soggy. Both sides of the bread were actually crisp too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
only used 6 eggs, and followed reviews and flipped half way. Think if I had diced the bread it would have been even better. Turned out pretty good though, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
So delicious! I did as a few reviewers did and decreased the liquid (2 c. half & half) and used my biggest baking dish (10x15). I also added a couple of shakes of nutmeg. Other than that, I followed the recipe as stated. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States