Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
We did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I was a bit nervous to try the recipe as is bit I did and it got rave reviews! I tried to dry out my bread and think it would've been even better if i had dried it out even more. I wanted to cook it longer but it was bubbling over into my oven so I pulled it out. I must have gone wrong on a measurement b/c it seemed like way too much caramel sauce. It was delicious as written but I may try to play with the recipe (and the bread) to save my oven next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHPAP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was wonderful, I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for a great (and easy) make ahead recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I read the reviews and made the recipe WITHOUT changing the measurements to see how it actually turns out. Perfect! Did it again also without changing anything - each time it was perfect. I brought it to a brunch and everyone asked for the recipe. I was worried about the soggy middle, dry tops and the amount of syrup mentioned in the reviews. No problems! The way to make sure it does not get soggy in the middle or too dry on the top is: 1- flip the bread slices before baking (make sure your slices are 1 inch, too thin otherwise it will definitely be soggy). I used day old french bread, fresh bread is too soft and will get soggy as well. 2- bake way longer, I think I did 50-55 mins. It gets a nice crunchy top (just watch towards the end so it doesn't burn) and the middle gets cooked longer - no soggy middle! 3- then let it rest before serving, somehow that makes a difference. I used maple syrup just because I prefer not to use corn syrup - gave it a nice breakfasty smell. Didn't have cream and used all milk. Too yummy with eggs and bacon, quiche, breakfast hams - I'm getting hungry :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I was excited to try this... I used the modified recipe as most reviewers did - 6 eggs , 2 cups half and half and glad I did; the consistency was perfect. I can't imagine all that extra liquid. I enjoy sweet things but I must say this is very sweet and heavy, def not able to eat a lot. I also read a review where someone mentioned sticking to bottom and if I ever make this again I'd either use non stick spray or wax paper as it does stick a bit. Overall it was good I just didnt get that amazing feeling like many of reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Let me start by saying I am not a frenach toast fan, but my partner is hinch why I made it. I followed a mixture of the review as I hate sogging bread. I did not add the topping as I let people of a choice of flavored syrups. I enjoyed it and my partner has asked for it three times in the week since I made it. Next time I will add a little more cinnamin and vanila with a splash of sugar for our taste. This was such a quick prep dish and since I am up about an hour our two before everyone else it was ready when they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I would give this 10 stars, if I could! Everyone raved over this!! I took the advice of another reviewer (Michelle Mullis) : used 6 eggs, 2 cups half and half (no milk), 2 tsp vanilla and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, soaked overnight, let sit out while oven preheated and turned each piece over, baked covered with foil for 20 minutes, poured sauce over the top and baked uncovered for the remaining 20 minutes. This was PERFECT! Thank you for sharing your recipe and giving us a new Christmas breakfast tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
The taste was wonderful but I made a huge mistake! In a rush to get food on the table for Christmas brunch, I left the foil on top of this dish when it went into the oven. It was SO soggy!! Very delicious though - I wouldn't change a thing except to pay more attention to how I baked it!! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Hooper Danner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Amazing recipe. I followed the recipe as is except for that I baked it 5-10 min longer, but it was not soggy and everyone enjoyed it thoroughly. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
My family loved this on Christmas morning. I added walnuts to the topping. Really can't be saved for leftovers. Not that there was much. Bread becomes too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,099) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States