Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I loved this recipe! Made it as written and it turned out so good. A day later it turned into more of a custard, but still delicious. Unfortunately, my family did not like it at all, so this will be a recipe I save for family events or brunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I put the butter, brown sugar, and (I used mapel syrup) on the bottom of the pan then I added the bread and egg mixture! Was great. not soggy, golden brown. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This was so yummy!!! I only had to make a couple of changes due to what I had on hand. I only had 6 eggs and used syrup instead of corn syrup as that is all I had. I turned each slice over halfway through cooking and then put the topping on. The only thing I will suggest as put a drip pan under as it will bubble over some because the bread puffs up some. Thank you for an amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This is nasty sorry. But none of my family liked it. No flavor to it, super soggy! Never again. we gave it to our chickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Wing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I have made this for years -- our family calls it "The Yummy Breakfast". I make it exactly as is - but use a loaf of challah and bake it for one hour. I don't think you need to adjust the liquid at all if you bake it longer -- maybe it is the challah too.... My sister substitutes Stonewall Kitchen Butter Pecan Syrup for the light corn syrup and swears this makes it even better. It is the perfect breakfast for Christmas morning. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I have made this recipe for years - you can use any bread or rolls you have leftover - I mix all the wet ingredients (eggs, milk, half & half, vanilla - whatever is used) in the blender set on low - one time I added a 3 oz. pkg. of cream cheese to the blender - I do things creatively. I like a lot of topping (cinnamon & brown sugar, touch of nutmeg) the topping is crunchy and good. Definitely needs to set overnight in frig to get the best consistency when baked. In my biggest pan I have used a lot more eggs and adjust liquids and bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I've been making this recipe for 15 years for Xmas morning brunch and my "kids" still love it. I don't feel like cooking a big meal today so we"re having breakfast for supper, french toast and ham with asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
THIS WAS GREAT!! I fixed this for Father's Day & my husband's birthday. I used some of the modifications from other reviewers & it turned out perfectly. My family can't for my retirement (Dec 2013)so that that I can make it more often. Thanks for the recipe & to all the reviewers suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rossville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Amazing. Prepped it on a Thursday night so my kids could have a special breakfast before school (it's that easy) I used Fresh baked Italian crusty bread (from Cosco)- about 4 days old.. so it was VERY dry. Used 6 eggs, 1 cup milk, 1 cup 1/2 1/2. Flipped bread while it soaked (a few hours in). Popped in oven, covered, for 20 mins, then uncovered with sauce on top for another 20. It was too sweet for us, but that's just our family. Next time I will use WAY less sugar and butter. Even still was great! My husband brought some of the leftovers to a friend at work, who declared it the best French toast ever! Can't wait to try it again with 1/2 the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Delicious!! Made suggested changes - 1 cup of milk, 1 cup of half & half, 6 eggs, 3 teaspoons of Vanilla, 1 Tbl cinnamon and replaced 1/4 cup of maple syrup for corn syrup. Kids loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States