Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
The best recipe for French toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was so yummy! I made a couple changes. I used Challah bread instead of french bread and cut them into cubes. I didn't have time to let the bread sit out over night and dry out like I've done with other recipes because I like that added crunch so I toasted bread cubes at 350 until they were golden brown and some crispy (maybe 10-15 minutes). I followed the rest of the recipe nearly exact only adding 1/3 cup of honey and 1.5 cups of frozen blueberries. When I melted the butter and brown sugar I probably only used a 1/3 of a cup (if that) and drizzled it over the top prior to baking. It was fantastic!!! Not to sweet and the perfect amount of crunch and softness. I got loads of complements on this dish and have been asked to give my friends the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Yeah, this is pretty soggy if you make it with all that liquid. I was darn upset the first time I made it and it turned out to be a soggy mess. But it had a great flavor so I made some changes. I've been making this recipe, with alterations, for almost 4 years now and it really is scrumtious if you cut back on the eggs and liquids. I use 6 eggs and 1 cup of milk and 1 cup of half and half. I also add some fresh grated nutmeg (love that stuff!). I also increased the bake time to an hour. Some reviewers use 2 cups of half and half and I can see that working, too. Now using these alterations still keep it custardy, but definitely nowhere near as soggy as the original. I usually let it set for a few minutes before cutting into it. If you want it to be more like griddled french toast with crispy outsides, you will need to either reduce the liquids way more, or figure out another way to adapt this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I made this French toast exactly as recipe called for. I found it very mushy to the point of gelatin consistency. I would really decrease the liquids. Gonna tweek it myself and see how it turns out. But I must say this had wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I've made this for our sunday pontoon brunch for friends. Everyone loves this but I did change it up a bit. I use 9 eggs and a little less liquid. I used 1 1/2 C milk and 1 C 1/2 & 1/2. I also baked it a little longer. 50 min. Turned out perfect. I am making it this weekend again for overnight guests but I plan to add cooked apple to the brown sugar mixture and pecans on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I made this for a breakfast at church. It was so good and enjoyed by everyone. so many people wanted the recipe. very rich so I would not make it for just a normal breakfast but great for a special occassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Way too sweet for me. Next time, I will omit the corn syrup sauce as it has seriously wreaked havoc on my digestive track. That being said, I should also mention that I am not a huge fan of sweet things, and unfortunately, I am not a fan of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I have been making a similar recipe for years and it has become a tradition to make Christmas morning. It can be baking while presents are being opened! My twist on the recipe is that before I bake it (after it has been in the refrigerator overnight) I put a package of frozen mixed fruit on the bottom of a 9 x 14 baking dish, then put the french toast on the top. Bake it for the required time and then put a dollop of yogurt on the top before I serve it! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I really don't like giving bad reviews, but we didn't care for this at all. It was too eggy, and I reduced the eggs to six. With the sauce that goes on top, it really wasn't that sweet to me. Don't think I will make this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States