Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Soggy...Soggy! Way too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I loved this recipe! It's breakfast and a cinnamon roll at the same time. Since there are only three of us, I adjusted it this way and it was perfect, plus lactose free:1/2 loaf of French bread/6 1" slices, 4 eggs, 1 cup lactose free milk, 1 t. vanilla, 1/8 t. cinnamon and I halved the topping, but used Dark Karo instead of light. Did what a few others did by turning the pieces of bread over before cooking, covering it for the first 20 mins, and pouring the topping over and cooking it uncovered the last 20 mins. It was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSDPT
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe!!! It's so versatile....I love swapping in light eggnog for the cream, and I always use egg whites vs eggs. Very yummy, but very high cal and fat ?? I mostly use challah bread, but today am trying with potuguese sweetbread. I'm sure it will be equally as yummy. Lastly, I find the sauce holds up best with either one of two things...adding it half way through cooking, or doubling butter/maple syrup and keeping the brown sugar as is. Most times it takes more than an hour to cook enough, and that turns the sauce into a crust. If you like a wet custard type french toast you may not have this problem so much, but my kiddos won't go for that lol. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Like the bread pudding I always hated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Meh. It didn't turn out as fabulous as I was envisioning it would. I only put in 1 cup milk and 1 cup creme, and although they weren't soggy, it didn't brown the way French toast normally does when you fry them in a pan. I guess I should've greased my pan too because I couldn't flip them over like some people did. I ended up putting butter in a pan and frying up my french toast for a bit. For the sauce, I melted butter, put in sliced granny smith apples and 1/3C brown sugar. I think I'll just stick to frying it up in a pan than baking. I like the soaking overnight idea though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
My family loved it! 6 eggs, 1 1/2 cups half and half, 1/4 cup milk, heavy shake of cinnamon, 2tsp vanilla. Topping 1 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cup butter, 1 whole apple peeled and chopped finely bring to a simmering boil until apples are soft. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I made this but tweaked a bit..I mixed the batter (no cornstarch or half and half) in a bowl first..broke up some French and Challah bread and put in my pyrex and poured the mixture over top. I didn't prep the night before...made it for a family bruch. I added brown sugar clumps over top with extra cinammon...turned out amazing. When I make regular french toast..I use flavored coffee creamer..soooo delish. Will do the same with this next time. Oh..and I used egg beaters...I'm sure there are too many ways to tweak this..but still a hit nontheless!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I have made this to day, very nice ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States