Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This is easy to make and it is great. I added more vanilla and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bracy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Great breakfast. Everyone in my home loved the French Toast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I've tried several overnight French toast recipes and this is by far the best. I like to add blueberries on top, just before pouring the corn syrup mixture on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This would have been a good recipe with some changes. I tasted more of the egg and cream than the french toast itself. I would reduce the number of eggs to 6 and add just one cup of half and half and a bit less milk. I'd also cut the bread a bit thicker than 1 inch. I am going to look at a similar recipe that calls for generally the same ingredients but fewer milky ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I did what Michelle Mullis suggested (6 eggs, 2 cups half and half - no milk), but in the morning, after soaking the bread all night long, I also sliced up 4 Granny Smith Apples and threw them + 1t cinnamon in the pot with the rest of the sauce ingredients and boiled them until tender. Then I spread the slices evenly over the bread and poured the sauce over top and baked as recommended. It was delicious. I will be making this again, although I may decide to play with the recipe, as it's hard to use that much cream, butter and sugar and not feel guilty about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmers70

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Too soggy for us, but good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This is very close to Paula Deen's baked French toast recipe, and, as written, is only OK. There was way too much liquid and it just didn't cook through well (results were mushy, although very sugary which enticed kids to eat it). BUT if you follow the suggestions by most of the reviewers, this can be amazing. You MUST cut down liquid to 6 eggs and 1.5 C half-and-half/milk. You will very likely need more than one loaf of bread, and slices should be 1.5-2" thick. Cut the bread and let it dry out overnight before soaking it in the egg/milk mixture. Other great suggestions (and I think they are essential to this turning out well) are (1) to cover the dish for the first 30 min (ensures even baking), then uncovered for another 20-30 min; (2) flip the pieces when you go from covered to uncovered; and (3) put on the sauce after you flip the pieces, just before you put back in oven to bake uncovered. Other more minor things that I followed was to replace the corn syrup in the sauce with maple syrup (I did not have corn syrup), add nuts to the sauce (pecans or walnuts are lovely), and I didn't bother with pre-heating the sauce, I just used the heat from the toast to get warm and spreadable. Following the major tips from the reviewers will result in a 6 star dish. My dp does not like sweets, but he LOVED this. Ate almost half the pan himself! And he's already requesting it again! Can't say I don't mind...this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was so easy and fantastic! Big hit at brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I love sugary sweets, and this is sweet! No maple syrup required, but awesome with whipped cream! Makes a great dessert too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaskedMan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acushnet, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States