Baked French Swirl Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I hadn't read the reviews before making this but they were correct in it being mushy. I made according to the directions but cooked it at 375 for 45 mins. Since it was still mushy I increased the temp to 400 for another 15 mins. If I decide to make this again I'd decrease the amount of milk by at least a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Very good and easy recipe. I chose to use baking raisins, milk, and cinnamon sugar. I made for Christmas for a group and all really liked it. I had to cook slightly longer to cook the center and the edges browned more than I wanted, but all in all, a good tasting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
The whole family loved this! Picky eaters included. We don't have a problem with it being mushy. I am guessing it probably has a lot to do with if you use skim milk or half and half. I use one cup half and half and the rest milk and it comes out great. I would also recommend letting it rest for fifteen minutes or so out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I used Cinnabon maple brown sugar wheat bread and it was awesome. I also added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashberry75

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmwood Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I have tried this twice. Second time was significantly better. Added more vanilla, 3 packets of splenda, sprinkled top with cinnamon/sugar before baking, and needs to be cooked for one hour. Will continue to bake with my modifications. Also, used a longer pan. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Delicious! Very easy to make. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Yummy!!!! The ladies and my grand daughter loved it. I did one half with cranberries and the other half with out. Wonderful breakfast dish, topped it wiht maple syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
We loved this, but I made several changes after reading the reviews: (1) Used skim milk and reduced to 2 cups, (2) Reduced eggs to 5, (3) Added cinnamon and nutmeg to egg mixture, (4) Used challah instead of the recommended bread, (5) Replaced half the raisins with dried cherries, (6) Baked 50 minutes in a 9x13 pan. It came out perfect, not mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
My family loved it! I added only about 2 cups of milk, some extra cinnamon, and baked it a little longer. Then I let it sit for about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
this was just kind of blah. i read all the prior reviews and made a few alterations (less half and half, etc) but in the end, it just really wasn't all that flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brujah42

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States