Baked French Fries I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Have made fries like this for years with various seasonings for those who said they need to be turned 1/2 way through, if you cut true wedges and place them skin side down on the foil, there is no need for turning. Both cut sides brown nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Let me start by saying, I have no problem serving these wedges to any guest or relative.I have containers that are blends of spices but they mostly include only the listed spices here. One problem that I often have is the potatoes not cooking evenly so here are my recommendations: Cut large potatoes potatoes in eighths and boil for 7-10 minutes before mixing with spices.add a pinch of salt and black pepper. Bake at 400 degrees. Bake with a dish half way filled with water to avoid burned wedges .this will result in soft wedges. Take water dish out outshot way in to give it a softer crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Followed the recommendation from another reviewer and lowered the temp to 400. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elysa Hellermann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
After reading reviews I had my doubts. I watched the video. People should watch videos they have provided for recipes in case you miss something. Lots of tips were explained on the video. For instance, watch them carefully and often to ensure they don't burn and turn them once or twice halfway. A lot is depending how you cut them also. It calls for baking potatoes which are huge. I didnt have those but close to it. So smaller potatoes aren't going to take as long and you will have to adjust the time accordingly. I also peeled mine first. I didn't have paprika and left it out but added salt and pepper. I didnt measure the spices either. I just sprinkled them on the top along with olive oil and stirred them. Also, it helps to spray your aluminum foil before baking and I use olive oil spray too. Oven on 450 and after 20 minutes I turned them. Put them in for another 20 minutes and were perfect. Next time I will set them on broil for a couple minutes before pulling them out. They had the perfect seasoning. Not spicy and not bland. If they are bland you didnt use enough. Very pleased and this is a keeper and healthier than fried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
These are really great especially if you cut them a bit thinner so they crisp up well. My two year old daughter gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Four stars! I would have given it five but,to hot and don't make the same mistake I did by putting it on a top rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
These tasted very good. I sprinkled ours with a little salt before baking and recommend cooking these at 400-425 degrees in the oven and turning half way through the cooking process. 400 degrees seemed a bit too low as these weren't browning enough at that temperature so I ended up setting the oven to 425 degrees half way through baking these. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I omitted the paprika (because my husband brought me home more chili powder instead of paprika!) and added dried parsley and it was very yummy! I did toss them about every 15 minutes to evenly cook them and I turned the heat down to 425 which was perfect for 40 mins. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I cut mine too thinly so they were slightly burnt after 40 min., but my kids still liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,043) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States