Baked Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made this for Christmas dinner and it was a big hit! I made it the day before with a few problems with the caramel, so here's my story. I followed the recipe, but used a mixer not blender. Made the custard first so it was ready for after the sugar was melted (used a cup of sugar). Preheated the oven; had the bano de maria ready. Then the problems with the caramel started. As suggested I added 2 T water, but against suggestions stirred it. It liquified, but when I poured it in the mold it solidified immediately in a puddle in the middle of the mold. I chipped it out and headed to the computer. Found a YouTube video that showed me how to caramelize the sugar from start to finish. I went back to the stove, used a 3 qt saucepan, didn't stir, was patient, and it turned out beautifully! I poured it into the mold, but the mold cracked! It was old and I think it couldn't handle the heat. I ran to the store and got a 10" metal cake pan. That worked, the sugar caramelized perfectly, I poured the custard on top of the caramel, and popped it in the oven! I checked at 50 min and had to give it 10 more. After it cooled completely, I covered it and put in the fridge. Next day I took it out about an hr before dessert and let it sit. Just before I served it, ran a knife around the edge, flipped it over onto a plate, tapped the middle, and out it popped with all that beautiful caramel. Picture perfect, but I forgot to take a pix! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Amazing! First time making this and it was so EASY I don't need to even look at the recipe again! Made it for a Christmas dinner and everyone loved it. I actually had to make two badges and well I love vanilla so I added a teaspoon of that. And it was delicious! :-) highly recommend and it was so EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I was very pleased with how this recipes ultimately turned out. I heated the casserole I was pouring the carmelized sugar in, but it still hardened immediately. I let it cool then proceeded pouring over the eggs, creams, etc. Baked in a water bath and it turned out beautifully. I made one small individual one as I had some left over. We loved it. The hardened carmelized sugar just distributed itself across the bottom as it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Add multiple layers of foil to your springform pan to prevent leakage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I made this for a Cuban bunko and I couldn't believe it could be so easy so when I watched the video to see the end result I thought I would give it a try. It was absolutely delicious and so easy. Cubans approved. It highly! Now everyone wants the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Awesome. This is such an easy recipe. I have made this flan 3 times already and it never fails. Everybody loves it. There is never enough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Love it every time I make this everyone says its to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is a very good flan. It has a nice rich texture. You have to be patient melting the sugar, but otherwise it is very, very easy. I mix the custard ingredients with a mixer not a blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I found this recipe and decided to try it for a get together. I mixed the ingredients in mixer and didn't use the blender. I made this in a 10 inch pyrex pie pan and then put the pie pan in a roasting pan with the water to bake. I read the other reviews and decided to cook it a little longer- 1 hour 15 minutes. It turned out great. Thanks for sharing this recipe...I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Worked perfectly and tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States