Baked Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Made it tonight. Simple and fabulous. Guests loved it. After an hour, couldn't tell whether it had set (slow wiggle when we poked the bowl), but when had to serve it, we were prepared for liquid. But it DID set, and it was great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This recipe was delicious! I accidently bought condensed milk and had heavy cream left over from the holidays, so it was a great way to use up ingredients. I made small servings in ramekins (placed in a large pan for the water bath), but it took much longer than the recipe called for. The flan started browning so I tented foil over the ramekins and cooked them until a knife inserted in the middle came out clean. Turned out perfect! It also didn't matter that the sugar hardened in the ramekins when I poured it. Hope this is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made this for Christmas dinner and it was a big hit! I made it the day before with a few problems with the caramel, so here's my story. I followed the recipe, but used a mixer not blender. Made the custard first so it was ready for after the sugar was melted (used a cup of sugar). Preheated the oven; had the bano de maria ready. Then the problems with the caramel started. As suggested I added 2 T water, but against suggestions stirred it. It liquified, but when I poured it in the mold it solidified immediately in a puddle in the middle of the mold. I chipped it out and headed to the computer. Found a YouTube video that showed me how to caramelize the sugar from start to finish. I went back to the stove, used a 3 qt saucepan, didn't stir, was patient, and it turned out beautifully! I poured it into the mold, but the mold cracked! It was old and I think it couldn't handle the heat. I ran to the store and got a 10" metal cake pan. That worked, the sugar caramelized perfectly, I poured the custard on top of the caramel, and popped it in the oven! I checked at 50 min and had to give it 10 more. After it cooled completely, I covered it and put in the fridge. Next day I took it out about an hr before dessert and let it sit. Just before I served it, ran a knife around the edge, flipped it over onto a plate, tapped the middle, and out it popped with all that beautiful caramel. Picture perfect, but I forgot to take a pix! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Amazing! First time making this and it was so EASY I don't need to even look at the recipe again! Made it for a Christmas dinner and everyone loved it. I actually had to make two badges and well I love vanilla so I added a teaspoon of that. And it was delicious! :-) highly recommend and it was so EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I was very pleased with how this recipes ultimately turned out. I heated the casserole I was pouring the carmelized sugar in, but it still hardened immediately. I let it cool then proceeded pouring over the eggs, creams, etc. Baked in a water bath and it turned out beautifully. I made one small individual one as I had some left over. We loved it. The hardened carmelized sugar just distributed itself across the bottom as it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Add multiple layers of foil to your springform pan to prevent leakage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I made this for a Cuban bunko and I couldn't believe it could be so easy so when I watched the video to see the end result I thought I would give it a try. It was absolutely delicious and so easy. Cubans approved. It highly! Now everyone wants the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Awesome. This is such an easy recipe. I have made this flan 3 times already and it never fails. Everybody loves it. There is never enough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Love it every time I make this everyone says its to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is a very good flan. It has a nice rich texture. You have to be patient melting the sugar, but otherwise it is very, very easy. I mix the custard ingredients with a mixer not a blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States