Baked Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Just made this and it's very yummy and easy to make. I used natural sugar that may burned a bit the white sugar will visibly brown much easier than a tan colored sugar. I also used the fat free condensed milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
For a smoother texture, i strain the custard before cooking and use less egg whites. Used 5 yolks and 3 whites. DO NOT MIX IN A BLENDER!!! That's considered a sin for making a flan. Flans shouldn't have any air bubbles in the custard or it will have a grainy texture after cooking. Mix the ingredients in a bowl using a spatula, not a balloon whisk in a circular motion. Traditionally, in the philippines, we steam it over the stove. Baking it takes a while and gets the tendency to overcook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I made this Flan yesterday. If you watch the video that comes with the recipe it's very helpful. I actually forgot to add the cup of milk and it was still awesome. It's the best Flan I've ever tasted. I WOULD cut back on the sugar and use a more shallow dish. This will help with the cooking time. I put the dish in the oven to make it warm while I was cooking the sugar and it worked great for coating the dish but you will have to let it cool before pouring in the milk mixture. I will never use another recipe...EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I add about 1 1/4 c. sugar and just let it sit on the stove under med heat. i shake it like jiffy pop at times just to get the sugar to disperse. when all but a few crystals turn golden then take it off and be ready. folks, there is no need at all for a blender. instead of heavy cream and milk, just add a can of evaporated milk...why make the recipe harder than it should be? i add 6 eggs instead of 5 maybe out of preference. a pinch of salt helps too. i also pre heat my round casserole dish in the water bath as soon as i turn on the stove. it may take a few hands to pour the liquified sugar and then the egg mixture so be prepared when you do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
My first time cooking this dessert and I have to say that it was D E L I C I O U S!!!! It tasted just the way i wanted it to taste. Texture was great. The only change that I made was that I added a bit more vanilla and sugar. 1 whole cup of sugar ( if it statrs to get hard because of not mixing right.. no worries it melts in the oven evenly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is an easy to follow recipe, I like flan but it's usually to sweet for me so for this recipe I used 3/4 of the condensed milk. It took a little longer to set about 25 minutes more but it came out delicious with a nice consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Roe
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Delicious flan that embodies everything that I love about this dessert. The flavor and texture are wonderful. A few thoughts, though. There was too much batter for my blender, so I had to blend in 2 batches. I used a 10" cake pan, which I placed in a large lasagne pan for the water bath. I would like to try this in a different pan, because it was full to the tippy-top, which made it hard to put in the oven. It was difficult for me to tell if the flan was done, and as a result, I think I over-baked it (I kept it in the oven for 70 minutes). Next time I will use a skewer or a knife to tell if it is done, instead of looking for a wiggle. The flan wiggled after 70 minutes, which got me worried. Regardless, it tastes great. I am very proud to serve this for dessert tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Roe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Made it tonight. Simple and fabulous. Guests loved it. After an hour, couldn't tell whether it had set (slow wiggle when we poked the bowl), but when had to serve it, we were prepared for liquid. But it DID set, and it was great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This recipe was delicious! I accidently bought condensed milk and had heavy cream left over from the holidays, so it was a great way to use up ingredients. I made small servings in ramekins (placed in a large pan for the water bath), but it took much longer than the recipe called for. The flan started browning so I tented foil over the ramekins and cooked them until a knife inserted in the middle came out clean. Turned out perfect! It also didn't matter that the sugar hardened in the ramekins when I poured it. Hope this is helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made this for Christmas dinner and it was a big hit! I made it the day before with a few problems with the caramel, so here's my story. I followed the recipe, but used a mixer not blender. Made the custard first so it was ready for after the sugar was melted (used a cup of sugar). Preheated the oven; had the bano de maria ready. Then the problems with the caramel started. As suggested I added 2 T water, but against suggestions stirred it. It liquified, but when I poured it in the mold it solidified immediately in a puddle in the middle of the mold. I chipped it out and headed to the computer. Found a YouTube video that showed me how to caramelize the sugar from start to finish. I went back to the stove, used a 3 qt saucepan, didn't stir, was patient, and it turned out beautifully! I poured it into the mold, but the mold cracked! It was old and I think it couldn't handle the heat. I ran to the store and got a 10" metal cake pan. That worked, the sugar caramelized perfectly, I poured the custard on top of the caramel, and popped it in the oven! I checked at 50 min and had to give it 10 more. After it cooled completely, I covered it and put in the fridge. Next day I took it out about an hr before dessert and let it sit. Just before I served it, ran a knife around the edge, flipped it over onto a plate, tapped the middle, and out it popped with all that beautiful caramel. Picture perfect, but I forgot to take a pix! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States