Baked Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
great & easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This was great tasting flan. However, I had to adjust the bake time. I had to bake it for about 1 hour 20 minutes. It still didn't appear to be set so I allowed it to cool and put it in the refrigerator over night. The following morning it was set and great tasting. I'm going to try it again and try baking it in two 9 inch glass pie plates in an attempt to fix the baking problem. Also, many other reviews were right, it's too much liquid for the blender. It spilled over. I'll try using the mixer in a bowl next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I am not a cook and rarely make a recipe. I followed the directions and everything was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Yum yum! Instead of heavy cream, I used a substitute that's 2/3 cup of milk and 1/3 cup of melted butter for every cup of heavy cream. Also, I ditched the extra one cup of milk and the texture is perfect! Everyone loved it. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was quick and easy. Beware, unless your blender is industrial size, this could be too much for it. The only problem I had is that my family members couldn't wait for it to cool and wanted to eat it all as soon as it came out of the oven. That's a good problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Very delicious recipe. It did however take quite a bit longer to cook than the recipe calls for. My family said it was the best they had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Very easy to make! Definitely a keeper! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Just made this and it's very yummy and easy to make. I used natural sugar that may burned a bit the white sugar will visibly brown much easier than a tan colored sugar. I also used the fat free condensed milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
For a smoother texture, i strain the custard before cooking and use less egg whites. Used 5 yolks and 3 whites. DO NOT MIX IN A BLENDER!!! That's considered a sin for making a flan. Flans shouldn't have any air bubbles in the custard or it will have a grainy texture after cooking. Mix the ingredients in a bowl using a spatula, not a balloon whisk in a circular motion. Traditionally, in the philippines, we steam it over the stove. Baking it takes a while and gets the tendency to overcook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I made this Flan yesterday. If you watch the video that comes with the recipe it's very helpful. I actually forgot to add the cup of milk and it was still awesome. It's the best Flan I've ever tasted. I WOULD cut back on the sugar and use a more shallow dish. This will help with the cooking time. I put the dish in the oven to make it warm while I was cooking the sugar and it worked great for coating the dish but you will have to let it cool before pouring in the milk mixture. I will never use another recipe...EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States