Baked Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
It was my first attempt making flan and I was very nervous. I made this for a Spanish themed meal and it was spectacular.I carmelized the sugar in the microwave and it is foolproof. Use the dish you plan to bake the flan in if possible. Add the sugar and just enough water to moisten the sugar. Set the microwave on high, it will turn from clear to golden in about 10 minutes. Do not stir or it will crystalize! Start watching it carefully after 5 minutes. If you use another container be sure to pour it fast or it will harden. When the flan is ready to serve put the pan in a little warm water bath and it will release easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This is a great recipe. I followed the advice of some of the others that had made it before and it turned out very well. I received rave compliments. The only thing is the baking time is way off. I had to bake it more than 1 1/2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I wanted to try a new recipe, and this was not as good as the simpler one that is just evaporated and sweetened condensed milk. It took much longer to cook than the recipe said and it was very oily when done. Also, it was not very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This recipe is a must try,so easy and tasty.i have bake it in microwave on CONVENTION cooking, I have used a silicon molds. i was a little unsure if it will b fine. it came out superb. needless to say i adopted this recipe. My kids enjoy it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sham Naz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mismaeel
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made this recipe and it was a crowd pleaser! Will definitely be making this again in the future. I used half vanilla bean instead of vanilla extract it gave the dessert an extra pop
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This was the first time I made flan and it came out beautiful! It was only my husband and our son at home, so I made half a batch. I mixed the ingredients in a bowl and electric mixer for about 2 min. Based on other reviews, I was concerned about the carmelized sugar hardening very quickly once poured. This did indeed happen and the bottoms of my ramekins were not evenly coated and there were empty spots. However, I poured the milk mixture over and baked and it came out perfect! The carmelized sugar was nice and runny and covered the custard, no empty spots. I used a knife to cut along the edges and inverted on serving dishes as soon as the remekins could handled (with oven mitts), about 10 minutes out of the oven. I will definitely to make this again, and probably very soon since I have half a can of sweetened condensed milk sitting in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rydarunner33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
*** Important: This recipe forgets to tell you to use a dull table knife to loosen the flan around the edges and then invert it onto a plate when it's slightly cooled. That's how you get it to look like the photo. I make this all the time. My children beg for it. It's a little hard to determine when it's set, and it really depends on how big your dish is, but it is fabulous once you figure it out. I usually make two or one and a bunch of small ramekins. We recently ate at a Cuban restaurant in south FL, and my BF didn't like the flan there because it wasn't as good as "mine." This recipe is "my" flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Best flan I've ever made! I've made it a few time already and the first time I made it, the top browned too much so I started covering it up with foil. I take the foil off when there's about 25 min left to bake so it can give it some color. My hubby and mom love this flan. My mom even told me to throw out the other flan recipes lol :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
excellent. very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pink.in.a.Blue.World
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I ran out of cream and so I used 1,5 cup evaporated milk and 1,5 cups whole milk instead, for the 3 cups of dairy. It worked perfectly! I have learnt that for a silky smooth creme, it is better not to beat the custard mixture on too high for long. Rather use a low speed on the hand mixer until well mixed. Over mixing causes bubbles and that makes the creme spongy once baked. This recipe was a spectacular success!!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink.in.a.Blue.World

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States