Baked Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ms. Haze
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Oh My Goodness! Followed the recipe exactly! Dessert was the star of our fiesta birthday dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I followed the recipe and it turned out perfect. I had an issue with my oven and had to leave it to firm up, like one hour and 20 minutes. But I cooled it completly and it came out perfect, looked and tasted excellent. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Baked for an hour and a half never set. Very disappointed. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Great recipe. No eggy taste, not overly sweet and proper creamy consistancy but flan like ( not creme brule). Made it twice but the second time I replaced some of the cream with milk and I won't do that again. As to the sugar I mix in water and allow the sugar to disolve while it boils. Once the water boils away then the sugar will caramelize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Rizko Dunsmore-Scicluna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Followed this to a tee and it received rave reviews! Thanks for a simple and effective recipe, it is going to be shared with more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Awesome!!!!!!! I baked it in a Bundt pan next time will bake in pyres casserole,dish. Mit took longer than 50 min about 90 min. I sprayed the pan first, mixed the ingredients in my kitchen aid. Indont know if it's because I baked it in Bundt oan, but there didn't seem to be a lot of caramel on top. No biggie. Everyone loved it. So smooth and creamy, not eggy tasting. IHave another recipe that's calls formthenevaporated milk instead of the heavy cream. This one is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sirenadabat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This flan was a HIT, my family absolutely loved it! My husband who rarely eats dessert asked me for seconds and he asked me to make it again.. I didn't change anything, I followed the recipe. I intend on make it again... Thanks for sharing!- Patty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This recipe is great and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Pretty much perfect! 4 starts only because of the cooking time and incomplete instructions. Here are a few tips! For the caramel - Adding about a teaspoon of water helps make sure your sugar caramelises evenly. Don't be too afraid to stir it - just use a new spoon each time to avoid there being sugar crystals. As the sugar cooks, make sure your flan mould is warm by running it under hot water and then drying it off - this helps spread the sugar. Use a tea towel between the pan and the bench. Once sugar is done, pour and swirl. I used my kitchen aid mixer - beat the eggs for a couple of minutes on medium speed before adding everything else in and beating another 3ish minutes. I had a little mix remaining into my 24cm/6 cup glass round casserole dish. I have an electric oven. I checked it after 50 minutes and it was still VERY liquid. Gave it 10 minutes, still too soft. 10 more and it was closer. 5 more and the knife i used came out with only a slight amount of moisture - Perfect. Total cook time of 75 mins. Once it's cooked, remove from water bath and put it into the fridge immediately. Again, use a tea towel to absorb some of the heat under the dish. Let it cool for at least 2-3 hours before trying to turn it out. I ran a knife around the edge and put the serving platter over and inverted the flan onto the plate. I did this a few hours before serving as I was paranoid about it not being right and wanted time to get to the supermarket just in case! I got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fleur Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I didn't have the right baking equipment, but made it anyway in a 2-qt chef's pan pan (Calphalon 142) immersed in water in a 3-quart saute pan (All-Clad). I was also making this for 2 people, so I changed the serving size to "3" so that it was exactly 2 eggs. This serving size was perfect for my standard sized 6-cup blender! I didn't have any trouble with the sugar: I measured out all the ingredients into a bowl, mixed it, and then dumped it in the blender (could have and should have just done that in the blender), THEN turned on medium-low heat for the sugar on the stove. While the sugar was heating up, I began blending, making sure to lift the sugar pan and swirl it around every so often. When I finished blending, the sugar was beginning to liquefy, so I lifted it off the heat a few inches, and swirled it around my chef's pan. Once the sugar was a beautiful medium amber, I turned off the heat and swirled it around the pan while it continued to cool. Once it had partially set, I dumped in the flan contents from the blender, placed the chef's pan in the saute pan, poured water that I had boiled while doing all the rest into the saute pan, and stuck it into the oven and baked for 50 minutes. It turned out perfectly... but did not flip well, because well, it wasn't baking equipment. All I cared about though, was flavor and texture, and that was spot on! Next time, to make it a little lighter, I will try using 1:1 cream to milk proportions instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States