Baked Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Awesome!!!!!!! I baked it in a Bundt pan next time will bake in pyres casserole,dish. Mit took longer than 50 min about 90 min. I sprayed the pan first, mixed the ingredients in my kitchen aid. Indont know if it's because I baked it in Bundt oan, but there didn't seem to be a lot of caramel on top. No biggie. Everyone loved it. So smooth and creamy, not eggy tasting. IHave another recipe that's calls formthenevaporated milk instead of the heavy cream. This one is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sirenadabat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This flan was a HIT, my family absolutely loved it! My husband who rarely eats dessert asked me for seconds and he asked me to make it again.. I didn't change anything, I followed the recipe. I intend on make it again... Thanks for sharing!- Patty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This recipe is great and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Pretty much perfect! 4 starts only because of the cooking time and incomplete instructions. Here are a few tips! For the caramel - Adding about a teaspoon of water helps make sure your sugar caramelises evenly. Don't be too afraid to stir it - just use a new spoon each time to avoid there being sugar crystals. As the sugar cooks, make sure your flan mould is warm by running it under hot water and then drying it off - this helps spread the sugar. Use a tea towel between the pan and the bench. Once sugar is done, pour and swirl. I used my kitchen aid mixer - beat the eggs for a couple of minutes on medium speed before adding everything else in and beating another 3ish minutes. I had a little mix remaining into my 24cm/6 cup glass round casserole dish. I have an electric oven. I checked it after 50 minutes and it was still VERY liquid. Gave it 10 minutes, still too soft. 10 more and it was closer. 5 more and the knife i used came out with only a slight amount of moisture - Perfect. Total cook time of 75 mins. Once it's cooked, remove from water bath and put it into the fridge immediately. Again, use a tea towel to absorb some of the heat under the dish. Let it cool for at least 2-3 hours before trying to turn it out. I ran a knife around the edge and put the serving platter over and inverted the flan onto the plate. I did this a few hours before serving as I was paranoid about it not being right and wanted time to get to the supermarket just in case! I got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fleur Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I didn't have the right baking equipment, but made it anyway in a 2-qt chef's pan pan (Calphalon 142) immersed in water in a 3-quart saute pan (All-Clad). I was also making this for 2 people, so I changed the serving size to "3" so that it was exactly 2 eggs. This serving size was perfect for my standard sized 6-cup blender! I didn't have any trouble with the sugar: I measured out all the ingredients into a bowl, mixed it, and then dumped it in the blender (could have and should have just done that in the blender), THEN turned on medium-low heat for the sugar on the stove. While the sugar was heating up, I began blending, making sure to lift the sugar pan and swirl it around every so often. When I finished blending, the sugar was beginning to liquefy, so I lifted it off the heat a few inches, and swirled it around my chef's pan. Once the sugar was a beautiful medium amber, I turned off the heat and swirled it around the pan while it continued to cool. Once it had partially set, I dumped in the flan contents from the blender, placed the chef's pan in the saute pan, poured water that I had boiled while doing all the rest into the saute pan, and stuck it into the oven and baked for 50 minutes. It turned out perfectly... but did not flip well, because well, it wasn't baking equipment. All I cared about though, was flavor and texture, and that was spot on! Next time, to make it a little lighter, I will try using 1:1 cream to milk proportions instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I do not use a blender. I whisk together (add 2 extra egg yolks) and pour through mesh sieve. This will come out PERFECT with no bubbles, etc. This is A+ recipe. Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aarchel
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I made this flan for dessert OMG that yummy! I followed the suggestion from others and I used my Kitchen Aid mixer. The flan turn out perfectly and it's my first time to make a flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aarchel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mallica714
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This was great and easy to make. Made it for dinner party and everyone loved, texture on flavor was like my Argentine mother use to make. I made two separate batches. First batch followed directions and could not fit a third in pan due to foam. Second batch I let it sit for five min before pouring in pan and it all fit. Due thin 8" diameter cake pan I only cooked for 45 minutes. THIS WILL BE ON MY FAVORITE LIST AND HAVE SHARED ALREADY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I'm Hispanic and everyone loved this recipe. I have another recipe I use but this one has a creamer texture. I would melt the sugar in the baking pans. The sugar could be reduced to at least 1/2 cup but it really depends on what size pan you're baking it in. You need enough to coat the base of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
easy to make, family loves it, I add a bit of salt but that's just to give it a better taste. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States