Baked Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Came out AMAZING! I decided that I didnt want to use a blender and I'm Happy I didnt! Mine came out smooth with not one bubble whats so ever. I also made extra sause because I liked it that way. I was also glad i made extra sause for the botom dries and crystalizes very easly when its cooking and i lost bout half of the sause from that. Overall with the changes I made, I am VERY pleased with this recipie (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This brought up many childhood memories. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Great recipe! Followed it exactly with outstanding results. It filled the blender, but as long as I was careful to push the top down tight while blending, the mess other reviewers talked about didn't happen. I had a little bit of a tough time with the sugar and since I was using a 10x10 square corelle baking dish, it didn't get all the way to the edges before hardening. I put the dish on the stove to resoften it, and that helped, but there was still almost an inch around the bottom of the dish that wasn't covered with sugar. I also, because the dish was wide, melted 1 1/4 cups of sugar. The flan was only about 1 1/4 inches thick, but the sugar liquified nicely, the flan set easily, and the custard was super creamy. Made it for a dinner party. Everyone raved! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Ward

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by George Altemus
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Im 10 years old and i love to cook..... Thank you so much beth for submitting this recipe, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Altemus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
It was my first attempt making flan and I was very nervous. I made this for a Spanish themed meal and it was spectacular.I carmelized the sugar in the microwave and it is foolproof. Use the dish you plan to bake the flan in if possible. Add the sugar and just enough water to moisten the sugar. Set the microwave on high, it will turn from clear to golden in about 10 minutes. Do not stir or it will crystalize! Start watching it carefully after 5 minutes. If you use another container be sure to pour it fast or it will harden. When the flan is ready to serve put the pan in a little warm water bath and it will release easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This is a great recipe. I followed the advice of some of the others that had made it before and it turned out very well. I received rave compliments. The only thing is the baking time is way off. I had to bake it more than 1 1/2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
It took much longer to cook than the recipe said, it was very oily and not very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This recipe is a must try,so easy and tasty.i have bake it in microwave on CONVENTION cooking, I have used a silicon molds. i was a little unsure if it will b fine. it came out superb. needless to say i adopted this recipe. My kids enjoy it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sham Naz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mismaeel
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made this recipe and it was a crowd pleaser! Will definitely be making this again in the future. I used half vanilla bean instead of vanilla extract it gave the dessert an extra pop
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This was the first time I made flan and it came out beautiful! It was only my husband and our son at home, so I made half a batch. I mixed the ingredients in a bowl and electric mixer for about 2 min. Based on other reviews, I was concerned about the carmelized sugar hardening very quickly once poured. This did indeed happen and the bottoms of my ramekins were not evenly coated and there were empty spots. However, I poured the milk mixture over and baked and it came out perfect! The carmelized sugar was nice and runny and covered the custard, no empty spots. I used a knife to cut along the edges and inverted on serving dishes as soon as the remekins could handled (with oven mitts), about 10 minutes out of the oven. I will definitely to make this again, and probably very soon since I have half a can of sweetened condensed milk sitting in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rydarunner33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Baked Alaska

The perfect dessert—cake, ice cream, and baked meringue in one amazing treat!

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States